14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really delish! We landed up adding basmati rice to the soup and letting it all simmer together until the rice was really soft, and it wasnt a 'soup' anymore but more like a paella! Needed quite a bit of salt for more flavour (used 1 cube of beef stock, maybe thats why). I would also suggest adding 1 more can of tomatoes for a really rich, red looking and tasting soup! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allyson April 14, 2009

I usually make a recipe at least twice before reviewing it...it's been known to not turn out so well the second time around for some reason. This one has been perfect both times! I used ground venison the second time and it lent great flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby November 19, 2008

This was delicious and came together quickly and easily for me on a very busy day. I didn't have any celery or beef base. Used low sodium beef broth. I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of crushed tomatoes and lots of black pepper. Didn't have time for rice so just added ramen noodles. Looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G August 09, 2008

This was very tasty, with the addition of more spices. Simmered it in my crockpot all day. I had a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes, so that's what I used, but will try just 14oz next time; it was too acidic so I had to add some sugar. It also lacked flavor until I added 1 tsp. Ms. Dash salt-free seasoning, maybe 1/2-1 tsp salt, and 1+ tsp. smoked paprika. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 19, 2014

Actually followed the recipe to the letter (not something I normally do). At first I thought I would be freezing the leftovers.....wrong...there were none. This soup is great! Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okie915 October 15, 2014

My plan was for stuffed bell peppers for dinner but when I saw this recipe, I decided to give it a try. Hubby and I were very happy with the result. Tastes just like stuffed peppers without the fuss in the making. Will be a frequent meal at our house from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrammaMikki August 27, 2010

This is a great recipe. I added cooked rice at the end of cooking rather than serving it over rice. A local restaurant makes a very similar soup that I had been trying to duplicate. This recipe is almost identical to the soup served at a local restaurant with the only difference being the addition of Thyme and dried crushed red pepper (a bit). I added those two ingredients and it was fabulous but then we like a bit of spice and it was just enough that you got a little zing every few spoonfuls. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MariInGa April 27, 2008

this soup was quite a treat, made it in the crockpot and we loved it looking foreward to the leftovers for lunch tommorrow

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie r chatlos January 07, 2008

Wow! I had a guest who is a foodie visiting and she laughed about this recipe but I had to write her immediately after eating it and tell her it is some of the best soup I've ever had. I started making it early in the morning, and my husband said the smell reminded him of a dish he used to make in Germany with peppers and ground meat. He asked me not to put the rice in and to serve it over spaghetti and he loved it that way. We all did. Unfortunately, it was all gone before dinnertime, so I had to make something else! We have all been waiting for me to get to the grocery for more bell peppers, because we are all still hungry for more of it. I finally got to the grocery and am trying it doubled and with crushed tomato today. This is addictive and I don't think you can ever get enough of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andolisa January 04, 2008
Stuffed Bell Pepper Soup