32 Reviews

SUPER recipe! I've made it twice for us, twice for others and everyone LOVES it. It IS best warm out of the oven, but still very, very good cold. Be careful to just lightly press the topping, otherwise it turns hard during baking (it's still yummy, though). Also, if you double the recipe (in 9x13 pan), you do NOT need to increase the cooking time -- I cooked 50 min & it browned too much on the bottom. Next time I doubled it, I cooked it 40 min and it was fine. Thanks for sharing this!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat in Texas April 18, 2003

Lovely and very berry! I used frozen mixed berries and cherries and added a dash each of nutmeg and cloves with the cinnamon and a bit of almond extract with the vanilla. Phenomenal flavor and wonderful delicate moist crumb. And the struesel topping is sooooo good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs September 15, 2011

This is really great coffee cake. I use 1/3 cup canola oil in place of the melted butter. I also use half whole wheat and half white flour and the cake still turns out really great. I sometimes a layer of softened cream cheese, sugar and vanilla before adding the topping to cancel out any health benefits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenus December 10, 2009

This cake was amazing! The only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is because I thought there was too much cinnamon in the streusel topping and it overpowered everything else. Next time (and there WILL be a next time!), I'll cut back to probably 1 tsp of cinnamon. Like many reviewers, I cut cold butter into the streusel, rather than melting it. My only other change to the recipe was to substitute half of the butter in the cake (1/4 cup) for unsweetened applesauce, just to make it a little healthier. I don't think anyone would have known, though-- the cake was moist, rich, and very delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmrJunior February 13, 2009

Easy, great recipe. For the fruit I used a bag of Safeway (store brand) mixed berries (rasp,blue,black,straw).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Ann Belanger March 21, 2004

I make coffee cakes for our customers for mother's day at our garden center. This is one recipe that is a specific request by our customers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beachsidelcb September 30, 2014

Doubled and put in 13x9 for 40 minutes. Didn't bother the layering, just mixed the berries in the batter and threw it in the pan. So GOOD!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mudjeeper July 12, 2013

Yummy!! Excellent coffee cake! I did double the fruit so it did take a little longer to bake. It went quick... everyone enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvthecook October 21, 2010

This was pretty good. I had a little trouble with the topping, but it turned out ok in the end. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened June 01, 2010
Streusel Topped Triple Berry Coffee Cake