Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Streusel Plum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Streusel Plum Cake

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2002

      Five stars isn't enough for this recipe! You have brought back a wonderful childhood memory for me. When I was a child I lived next to a man who was a professional baker and when plums were in season he made something very similar to your recipe and it was my favorite. I've been wanting it ever since and now I've found it thanks to you. I made it tonight for my Mother's 88th Birthday and it was a five star sensation!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Thank you Dorothy once again. (I've also made your Marzipan bars.) This is the first time I have made a cake with plums, and let me just say that even my 5-yr-old boy loved it. Easy to make, and I even added an extra plum! Very impressive. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I'm really excited about this recipe. My hubby was recently told he has Type 2 diabetes. I've been searching for recipes to make for him, because he's really missing his desserts! This one got rave reviews from him. Very easy to make. Plus I have a tree full of plums right now that I will can for use in this! Thanks Dorothy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Okay, my plums were way too juicy for this cake and it didn't quite cook right. But holy crap, it tastes so incredibly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This is a perfectly nice recipe but, having just made an apple cake which combined flavours beautifully, seemed a touch boring; I used fresh bought plums which may have had an effect. Still, this is easy and quick to make, tastes fine and looks lovely. I would make it again to cope with a plum glut but will be looking for more exciting options too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      It tastes great! But my didn't turn out like the pictures, my fresh plums and streusel sank to the bottom of the batter. But the cake part was light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Very Good. All of the flavors went together perfectly. I used fresh plums other than that I followed recipe. EXCELLENT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Nice Recipe! I switched out some of the ingredients to make it a little healthier & it still came out great. I made 12 muffins from this recipe this morning and they are all gone already! (I only ate one).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      A nice dessert - I used the glaze and served it cold. The only change I did was I didn't use the strudel topping and used cinnamon-sugar instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Wonderful! Halved the recipe and made it in a pie plate, was a great size for just the two of us. I was looking for the best recipe for the fresh plums from my aunt's tree, and this was it! (Also used cake flour, some chopped nuts and skipped the glaze) It was the perfect light dessert, thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Thanks for the recipe. It was easy to make and delicious to eat. I omitted the glaze and served it with a dollop of vanilla ice cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

    • on July 22, 2007

    • on September 20, 2006

      Made this last week for 'coffee and' after church. There was nothing left! Used fresh plums (very small~don't know what they're called). The only mistake I made was to double the recipe and put all in the same pan. DON'T! It was a bit too much for a 9"X13" pan and dripped~also took longer to bake to get the center done. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      This was just great! I used some frozen plums (thawed and drained) and I made it without the glaze. It was really delicious warm, with ice cream! Not too sweet, but with great flavour. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      This was my first streusel cake so I wasn't sure what to expect or even what it was supposed to look like. I'd halved the ingredients and baked in a pan that was a tad too wide so I was concerned about the batter being too thin but it all turned out perfectly once done. I’d gone out and bought my first can of plums for this recipe and I’m sure glad I did because they were delicious, I should have gone ahead and used two cans instead of just the one hehe! Anyhow, thank you for sharing this recipe, derf. Though it isn’t the best desert I’ve had, it’s a good recipe to keep around and I’ll, no doubt, make it again one day :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      This dessert was just incredible Derf... I had a couple of cans of plums in my pantry, and I was looking for an easy recipe to use them up, WOW, am I ever glad I came across this one! I followed the rcipe exactly as stated, only I omitted the glaze and served it with vanilla ice cream, my family just thoroughly enjoyed it...thanks for sharing a wonderful dessert recipe Derf, I will make this again soon...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      I was looking forward to making a plum cake this fall when prune plums are in season. I prefer thinner, more traditional plum streudels, but this one was enjoyable as well and very easy to make. Don't be shy with the plums.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      I have some canned plums that I need to use and I used a quart jar of plums in this recipe. I also used Pamela's Pancake and Baking Mix from the health food store. This mix eliminates the need for some of the ingredients and less sugar; also quicker to make. All and all this is a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2004

      Delightful and gobbled up immediately at our house. I subbed 1/4 cup Splenda for some of the granulated sugar and it didn't seem to be a problem. The cake is light and fluffy, the plums soft and gooey and the streusel topping just the right sweetness. We skipped the glaze and didn't miss it a bit. Next time I'll double the recipe and bake it in a 9x13 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Streusel Plum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.2
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    23%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 38.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 109.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 34.2 g
    137%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes