21 Reviews

Five stars isn't enough for this recipe! You have brought back a wonderful childhood memory for me. When I was a child I lived next to a man who was a professional baker and when plums were in season he made something very similar to your recipe and it was my favorite. I've been wanting it ever since and now I've found it thanks to you. I made it tonight for my Mother's 88th Birthday and it was a five star sensation!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn July 26, 2002

Thank you Dorothy once again. (I've also made your Marzipan bars.) This is the first time I have made a cake with plums, and let me just say that even my 5-yr-old boy loved it. Easy to make, and I even added an extra plum! Very impressive. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wicketsmom August 05, 2002

I'm really excited about this recipe. My hubby was recently told he has Type 2 diabetes. I've been searching for recipes to make for him, because he's really missing his desserts! This one got rave reviews from him. Very easy to make. Plus I have a tree full of plums right now that I will can for use in this! Thanks Dorothy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz September 21, 2003

Okay, my plums were way too juicy for this cake and it didn't quite cook right. But holy crap, it tastes so incredibly good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola Granola July 25, 2011

This is a perfectly nice recipe but, having just made an apple cake which combined flavours beautifully, seemed a touch boring; I used fresh bought plums which may have had an effect. Still, this is easy and quick to make, tastes fine and looks lovely. I would make it again to cope with a plum glut but will be looking for more exciting options too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racceber November 01, 2009

It tastes great! But my didn't turn out like the pictures, my fresh plums and streusel sank to the bottom of the batter. But the cake part was light and fluffy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristine_kiner September 10, 2009

Very Good. All of the flavors went together perfectly. I used fresh plums other than that I followed recipe. EXCELLENT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommyof5lilprincesand1lilprincess August 13, 2009

Nice Recipe! I switched out some of the ingredients to make it a little healthier & it still came out great. I made 12 muffins from this recipe this morning and they are all gone already! (I only ate one).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 April 26, 2009

A nice dessert - I used the glaze and served it cold. The only change I did was I didn't use the strudel topping and used cinnamon-sugar instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen September 14, 2008

Wonderful! Halved the recipe and made it in a pie plate, was a great size for just the two of us. I was looking for the best recipe for the fresh plums from my aunt's tree, and this was it! (Also used cake flour, some chopped nuts and skipped the glaze) It was the perfect light dessert, thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariettaE July 24, 2008
Streusel Plum Cake