9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake produces better results if the butter and sugar is thoroughly creamed together. Then add egg (large one) and beat very well. Add milk and dry ingredients alternating but mix gently. See if you find this better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 30, 2013

Nice coffee cake BUT I agree with another reviewer who said the batter was too thick. It was like bread dough! So I doubled the milk. Also tried it with buttermilk and got great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkey2000 March 24, 2013

This cake was absolutely wonderful. I made it for breakfast this morning with frozen blueberries. It rose nice and high and was very moist. It couldn't have been better. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHouseCafe February 06, 2012

UPDATED REVIEW on June 16th,2011: I ate a piece of the coffee cake this morning and I really hate to say this, it wasn't nearly as moist as it was about 45 minutes after it was taken out of the oven yesterday.I do suggest that you make and eat it on the same day.I made this recipe on 6/15/2011 for the Baked Goods Event in the Food Photo Forum.After mixing the batter, I found it to be a little on the stiff side so just a bit more milk was added.Then procceded with the rest of the recipe.I thought 40 minutes seemed like a long time for this to bake,so I tried it at 30 minutes and it was just perfect. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 16, 2011

I am giving this recipe 5 stars, because everything about it is excellent, but for my own taste, I prefer less nutmeg. I am a big fan of coffee cake and have tried many. This one will not disappoint!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
japancook March 04, 2010

Aweome! Easy to make and very moreish. Had to use brown sugar so cut down to 1/2 cup for the cake mix. Mix was very thick so thinned out with 1/4 cup water. Cake had a nice light texture after 40 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browncookie June 28, 2009

A nice change of pace from the usual coffee cake. I used fresh blueberries and also doubled the recipe using a 9 x 13 pan. I had to add a little extra milk because the batter was very thick and I knew the blueberries would be squashed trying to fold them into the batter. This cake had a nice moist, spongy texture and a great flavor. I took some over to my in-laws and they loved it to. Recipenapped for June, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 27, 2009

This recipe was included in Book#228608. October 17, 2008 --Wow, these is a really moist and delicious streusel coffee cake. I made it at first this morning using frozen blueberries, but when the coffeecake came out of the oven, the berries had seeped blue color into most of the dough. I went back to the store and bought fresh blueberries. What a difference, both in appearance and taste!!! I will definitely use fresh berries when I make it again. Great recipe, Chef on the coast; perfect for a snack or as a Sunday morning treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 30, 2009

This is dilicious. Just like from a bakery. Made and reviewed for the Aus/NZ recipeswap #22 November 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum November 17, 2008
Streusel Blueberry Coffee Cake