181 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh goodness - the RAVES I got when I decided to do Mexican night starring these chimichangas. Everyone loved these - next time I'll make a double batch. For the four people who were eating, the six chimichangas this made just wasn't enough. I paired it up with Sweet Corn Tomalito and refried beans. WONDERFUL! This is going in my permanent recipe collection.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T-Logan May 02, 2002

These were very very GOOD they were so easy to make and my family loved it. I did add some shredded cheddar cheese ontop for the last few minutes of baking. I will keep this recipe on file THANKS for sharing this one with us. :)

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W July 17, 2002

OK, I fudged on this great recipe, but I had to tell you how wonderful it was! I made JoAnn's Italian Beef (Italian Beef) recipe the other day and still had a bunch of beef leftover. So I made the chimichangas with that instead of the ground beef. I omitted the salt, but followed the rest of the recipe. I used mild Pace Picante sauce and vidalia onions. Since I'm on the Sugar Busters program I used whole wheat flour tortillas. Next time I'll watch them in the oven a little more closely as I seriously browned the tops. But this chimichanga recipe could put a serious hurtin' on local Mexican restaurants. Muy bueno!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipewrestler June 12, 2002

I made this last night and found it to be very tasty and easy to make as well as to clean up. This one I will keep and pass along to my friends.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 July 17, 2002

What a great recipe! I was desperate for something to make tonight and found this. My kids liked it which is always a reason to give a recipe 5 stars! Instead of margarine I brushed the tortillas lightly with olive oil and they browned nicely. This would be a a good thing to make for a crowd, because you can bake a bunch at a time...maybe slice into appetizer-size portions and serve with several dips.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HMS July 08, 2002

Had guests over this evening and this was a huge hit with everyone! Very tasty and so easy to make. I doubled the recipe and served it with refried beans. This is a dish I will be making over and over again. :-)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 12, 2002

This was a great meal! Being baked was a nice change from our usual soft tacos. I added some cheese to the meat mixture and it turned out great. Both my husband and I loved it and we will be having this again!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas September 10, 2002

You are awesome!! I'm just starting this whole cooking thing and it turned out great!! Very simple,very quick.Thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eden75 August 19, 2002

To: Mysterygirl All I can say is "Super Chimi's"!!! They are excellent. I just put 4 together as there are only two of us here, and they disappeared promptly! Saved the leftover filling for another night. I added Paula's Easy Homemade Salsa to the filling and then topped the chimi's when I served them. Just yummie. Thanks for sharing. Those puppies deserve 5 stars! Sincerely, Laudee

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee June 08, 2002

I used ground pork instead of beef and salsa instead of the sauce, and I can only say WOW! These are great!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* May 13, 2002
Streamlined Chimichangas