13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dessert was so easy and extremely delicious. Who doesn't like twinkies, right? A wonderful combination of simple ingredients. Very rich and creamy. This would be great for last minute entertaining. Looks beautiful and tastes like you spent hours in the kitchen. Thanks for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccalanders31 March 11, 2003

So good, so easy...need I say more? I will add that I did leave the twinkies whole as suggested by lucky clover - everyone LOVED this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsKittyKat September 28, 2008

I made this for a Memorial Day cookout, and everyone said it was really good. I think I will leave the Twinkies whole next time and add more to make the cake part thicker. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover May 27, 2008

I made this for my family reunion and it traveled in a cooler for 5 hours and still was awesome. Was gone in minutes. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PopcornLady August 15, 2007

A *very* popular dessert at a weekend potluck dinner. I made it about 8 hours in advance and it held up beautifully. Getting the strawberry topping equally distributed was tricky since my glace was pretty thick even after I thinned it with a bit of water. The one corner that was left became my breakfast this morning, 2 days after making it. I have always heard that Twinkies have a long shelf life and now I believe it. ;-) They were still firm! Thanks for sharing this fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie August 06, 2007

This was too good for words. I couldn't find a carton of glaze in my local store so I had to buy the powdered glaze mix. I made my layers a bit thinner so I had enough for a second pan of this,on the second pan after the strawberry layer I added another creamy layer then a layer of sliced bananas It was good also

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel July 20, 2007

EDITED REVIEW: The taste of the top filling is fantastic and I think this could be made simpler by replacing the twinkies with a layer of torn up angel food cake and whipped cream on top of that followed by the rest of the ingredients. Just a thought. My daughter said to tell you thanks for her favorite new dessert, Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton July 12, 2007

This dessert was outstanding, easy and delicious.....took it to our annual Easter get together everyone raved about it....Thanks for sharing your recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PHYLLIS K. April 10, 2007

This is a great way to use a bunch of strawberries. I cut it in half cause there was only DH ahd me. I just guesstimated on halving the Cool-whip, condensed milk, and glaze. That's taking strawberry shortcake to a whole new level!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife November 06, 2005

This was one of the quickest and easiest desserts I have ever made! Not to mentioned one of the best tasting ones using strawberries! Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Fla July 04, 2005
Strawberry Twinkie Delight