Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry-Topped Puffy Pancake With Creamy Orange Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry-Topped Puffy Pancake With Creamy Orange Filling

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2008

      I am giving this 4 stars based on the fact that it needed a little bit of work. But the final product deserves 5 for sure! I read the reviews of everyone else on here and decided to plan ahead and work with the recipe so as to avoid a flat dense pancake. I looked at a few others and these were the changes I made: I used 4 eggs, 1 cup of 2% milk (what I had on hand), and 2/3 cup flour. The rest I left the same. I did however use 2% cottage cheese since that is what I had as well. I also allowed the cake pan to get hot in the preheating oven for about 3 minutes first after reading some reviews on another recipe. Then I sprayed it down and poured in the batter. It cooked for about 12 minutes and was PERFECT! It puffed up so beautifully and the entire thing was light and fairly thick. The sauce was gritty by itself but GREAT on the pancake. And the strawberries were a nice addition. I also shaved a bit of chocolate on the top and a dollop of fat free whip cream to top it off. It was almost too pretty to eat! I wanted to add that it is important not to open the oven until the time is up or you run the risk of it deflating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      The orange cream filling might be better with orange juice as opposed to the concentrate. I thought it tasted a little artificial with the concentrate. The pancake was not what I was expecting. I thought it would be more dry and puffy like a cream puff or a german pancake. It was very thick and eggy. One reviewer called it a thick crepe, that seems more accurate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This is a beautiful dish. It puffs up on the edges, leaving a lovely bowl for the filling and fruit. I followed CulinaryExplorer's tips and it turned out quite nice. The texture is not like a pancake, almost more of a bread pudding - it very good and not too sweet. My husband added honey over his at the table to sweeten it up, but I didn't need it. I diced the stawberries finely and added a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips to the top. Thanks for posting this simple, yet elegant recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This was almost 5 stars for me. The orange cream filling was inspired and delicious and will find a home in many dishes to come. So simple and obvious and a perfect complement to berries, in my case I did a mix of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries. Having read the prior reviews on the pancake, I decided to experiment and whip the egg white separately and folding it in the pancake batter. This extra step seemed to have made no difference as my result was a pancake with just a slight rise on the edges. For the most part it was like a very thick crepe. While it was tasty, it was a bit heavy. Wondering if a small amount of baking powder is in order. Nonetheless, brunch was delicious and this will certainly be repeated here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      This recipe for me was a mix of great and so so. I loved the orange topping with the strawberries. However I didn't care for the pancake flavor. I will make the topping mixture again with my german pancake recipe. I also made the pancake in a glass 8x8 baking dish baked for 20 min. Update: I combined the orange mixture with blueberries and it was really good as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      As the other reviewers indicated, this pancake puffs only slighlty, and mine deflated moments after removal from the oven. I did love the sauce, however, & will try that on other things in the future. In honor of Independence Day, I used blueberries & sliced strawberries & it made an attractive presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      This was wonderful!!!! What a decadent brunch! Mine puffed up around the edges and only slightly in the center....it was perfect!!! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      Yum! We really enjoyed this! I made the full version in a glass pie plate. It was beautiful! Mine had a sunken middle and puffy sides. I don't know if the middle was suppose to be lower - but it was a perfect bowl for the cottage cheese layer and strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      This didn't puff up quite like I expected but it was pretty and tasted good. I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in my 6 inch cast iron skillet. While the oven heated, I put about 1 teaspoon butter in the skillet before placing in the oven to warm. Warming the skillet first makes a very nice brown crust. Prepared the mixture as instructed and topped it off with a mixture of fresh strawberries and a few blueberries which were dusted lightly with about 2 teaspoons powdered sugar. This dish is attractive and has a nice orange flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry-Topped Puffy Pancake With Creamy Orange Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.6
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    13%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 107.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 175.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes