29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So simple--and yummy! A hint regarding the foam: drop a tsp or so of butter in the syrup while it's cooking--this will cut way down on the foam.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palindromes April 15, 2009

loved it! i followed review suggestions by adding half the sugar and a little dab of butter. i did strain mine.

wow. this syrup is amazing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjanejam May 20, 2012

I doubled the Strawberries and only added 1 1/2 cups Sugar and it turned out plenty sweet. Like some of the other reviewers I also didn't strain the berries because we don't mind the seeds and little chunky texture. This is absolutely wonderful over Ice cream, French toast and Pancakes. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 April 16, 2010

This recipe worked very well for me and tastes good, too! However, just a hint: remember to skim off the "foam" that boils up once you take it off the heat; it will ruin your syrup! Luckily I was able to get most of it out afterwards. :P

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bug @< June 04, 2003

This was super good and it didn't last in our home long at all. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn August 08, 2009

This was absolutely fantasic syrup. Just the smell in the kitchen when I was cooking it was to die for. I made one small sub to the recipe since I was low on regular sugar. I had about 1 1/3 c. sugar and then 2/3 c. turbinado. Definitely Yummy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nirvana-grrl July 30, 2009

I made this sauce last night to serve over vanilla ice cream. I followed recipe as stated..We really enjoyed this. I cant wait to serve over pancakes or chocolate fudge cake. YUMMMMM...I will use this recipe for raspberry sauce and black berry....Thank U for this recipe....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck June 25, 2009

Thanks for the recipe. I actually used agave syrup in place of the sugar, and added a hint of molasses. It is totally delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daleasha June 14, 2009

Oh my gosh...this is so good!!! I had strawberries in the freezer that I needed to find a use for, and this was the ticket!! Simple to make, and delicious!!! We had it over ice cream, and it is to die for!!! DH enjoyed it very much also. Next, I'll try it on pancakes... Thank you, Bev!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ska May 11, 2009

Wow! My daughter was making strawberry pancakes, and we needed strawberry syrup to go with it. This one was GREAT! Very easy to make and it has a great taste, Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k.durham April 18, 2009
Strawberry Syrup