112 Reviews

LOVED this strawberry pie! It was so easy to make and so yummy! Next time, I will try with a graham cracker crust!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen April 02, 2014

love this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ad7192 August 17, 2013

I have been making this recipe for years. My mom used to make it all the time when i was a kid.<br/>I made 4 of them the other day for the 4th of July cookout we had and there was none left! I practically ate a whole one myself! LOL! IF only i were kidding...........YIKES!<br/>Try it, it sure beats that glaze you buy in the plastic bag that is usually beside the strawberries!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wilkerson765314 July 10, 2013

Oh, this was just okay. I won't give it stars because I probably played around with the glaze too much. I sliced the berries thickly, and put maybe 2 1/2 cups into the pie. The glaze did seem too sweet, so I added some lemon without measuring. I only cooked the glaze with the one cup of hot water, then added an unmeasured amount of ice water before refrigerating, to thicken it before I poured it on the pie. I didn't use all of it on the pie, but it did seem like the pie was not full enough- of berries or glaze.<br/>I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn June 15, 2013

This went over well in my house. I used some of the suggestions I read in other reviews. I cut the water down to 1 1/4 cup and I also mixed the liquid and strawberry's together in a bowl before I added it to the pie crust. I used a store bought shortbread crust and my ingredients almost fit perfectly. I had just a touch left over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embutterfly75 May 13, 2013

Wonderful pie. Made a double batch. It makes enough to make three pies. So be aware when you double it, you will have enough glaze for 3 WONDERFUL pies. Thanks for the recipe. Highly recommend this easy pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alayane April 20, 2013

This was awesome. I added some diced pineapple, left over from a banana split party, and used the juice to sub some of the water. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaskegaard June 23, 2012

5 star looks & directions/ 3 star taste. It was good but tasted more like a Jello pie to us, very sweet & too much glaze. It needed twice the amount of strawberries to make up for all the glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ct in ut June 19, 2012

I love strawberry pie and this is the first one I have ever made and the best I have ever tasted!! I used 1 1/4 cups of hot water but I also added 1/4 cup of bottled lemon juice. I heated it up and cooked only til translucent (only took a few minutes) it did not come to a rolling boil. I sliced up strawberries and quartered some so they fit in the pie shell more evenly. I also used another reviewers tip and poured the strawberries and gel into a glass bowl and let it cool in the bowl before pouring into the pie crust. Crispy pie crust, tangy sweet filling and topped with whipped cream DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing this will be made all summer long!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari79 March 13, 2012

This was pretty good, considering it wasn't quite strawberry season when i tried it and was craving fresh strawberry pie. However, i was lucky enough to find some decent berries. I was looking for something close to Bakers Square's recipe pie and this one did ok, considering its their crust that i cannot duplicate. However, this was good. Getting it to set was a challenge for me. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doreen_2 September 30, 2011
Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK