117 Reviews

I just found this recipe and all the helpful ratings. This was the first time I ever made a strawberry pie and it was amazing.. I followed some suggestions and I would highly recommend the following: add sugar, cornstarch to 1-1/4 cup cold water and bring to a boil stirring constantly, then add the juice of 1 lemon and the strawberry jello. Pour that over sliced strawberries till cooled and then add to pie crust. From there it set perfectly in 1-1/2 hrs. One review stated that jello may not gel properly if boiled and that may be correct as I noticed that quite a few reviews stated they had problems with that. I had made my own crust, and when cooled I added 4 oz. cream cheese mixed with 2 TBSP. powdered sugar and spread it on the bottom and up the sides and had no soggy crust. I do want to thank those who suggested the changes as the results were fantastic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fj4b June 07, 2016

This was amazing! I used an xl graham cracker crust and an egg slicer for the berries. It seemed like it took a while to set, but that's probably because I was so impatient! I will probably use less water next time so that it sets more solidly, and I'm going to try a strawberry/banana jello and add some banana slices on top and see how it goes!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ampm2715 July 07, 2014

This was really delicious even without whipped cream! I hate using boxed Jello, but have to admit it was very good in this pie. I used fresh strawberries from my garden and a store-bought graham cracker crust. Next time I'll be sure to have whipped cream!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz May 30, 2013

By all the reviews I knew this had to be a winner & boy it is. Yum Yum Yum. I really want to hide it in the back of the fridge so I don't have to share.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 April 22, 2010

Excellent recipe. I make this with a sugar free graham cracker crust and sugar free jello. It turns out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAUL P. April 16, 2010

This is exactly like a pie my grandmother made and I have made many times! It's excellent with fresh sliced peaches and peach jello too! Your friends will be impressed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julia F. June 07, 2016

This makes a delicious and beautiful pie! I made the following changes: 1) used only 1 1/2 cups water and 2) used a 9 oz. graham cracker crust. This was my first time ever eating (or making) a strawberry pie and I was very happy with the results. The strawberry flavor is great and it set up perfectly in less than 2 hours. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 01, 2009

This is a really easy recipe to make. I did make a few changes because of diet reasons. First I used a sortbread crust, next I left out the sugar, used 1 1/2 cups of hot water and a 1 1/2 pints of strawberries. This was really tasty and DH finished the pie last night. This is a keeper that I make agian when the berries are in season. Made for: Tag it Red, February 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Porfavorcorona February 04, 2009

I am sure that this recipe is wonder as is written, but when I make it, I mix strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries. I also use sugar free jello,splenda, and a fat free grahama cracker crust. Just before serving, I create a lattice pattern from fat free whipped cream. My family loves this dessert and requests it at all ofour cookouts. (and yes, this really is great in a graham cracker crust)!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girly_Girl_Lori July 05, 2008

Delicious, outstanding pie, I added a layer of cream cheese [about 4 ozs] mixed with 3 tbl of powered sugar first then added strawberries and Jello

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mister Moose March 12, 2007
Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK