Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      I really love this pie too! I always pour the cooked jello filling into a big glass bowl on top of my cut up strawberries. I gently stir until filling is mixed well, then refrigerate to let it set up, usually overnight. The next day I stir it up again and pour it into my cooked pie shells. This way the crust doesn't get soggy at all from the hot liquid, and I'm better able to gague how much filling to put in without making a mess. Any extra gets put into parfait cups with whipped cream and my kiddo's eat it up! Good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2002

      Excellent! I can't believe that I just made this recipe yesterday, and it's gone! The strawberries take on such a nice flavor. The only bad part was waiting for it to set!! I would highly recommend this one!! Marianna U. Kretschmer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      Very easy, and a good way to celebrate the first berries of the season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2001

      Such a simple dessert and really good too, this was a Christmas dessert for us, I had planned on making this a few weeks ago, sure glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times and instead of the regular boring pie crust, I use a shortbread pie crust that you can find at the store with the grahm cracker crust pie shells. I use 1 1/4 cup hot water to dissolve the gelatin and corn starch and do not add the cold water. After all, you are going to bring the mixture to a boil, so what is the point of the cold water? This smaller amount of water, along with the pint of strawberries is perfect to fill the store bought pie crusts (which seem to be smaller) without running over the top. It sets perfectly within a couple hours. If I were to ever make it in the standard pie pan, then I might need the additional water. Other than that this is a great recipe and everyone loves it. Very easy and quick to put together too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      This was really delicious even without whipped cream! I hate using boxed Jello, but have to admit it was very good in this pie. I used fresh strawberries from my garden and a store-bought graham cracker crust. Next time I'll be sure to have whipped cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      awesome..don't use sugar, and only use 1 1/4 cup hot water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      THE strawberry pie to make. Delicious, yet took only 10 minutes to make. There WAS too much filling though, I was stupid and poured it all in, and I ended up with a big mess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      I made a sugar free version using sugar free jello and 1/4 cup of splenda, it got rave reviews from both the diabetic and non diabetics! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      By all the reviews I knew this had to be a winner & boy it is. Yum Yum Yum. I really want to hide it in the back of the fridge so I don't have to share.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Excellent recipe. I make this with a sugar free graham cracker crust and sugar free jello. It turns out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      LOVED this strawberry pie! It was so easy to make and so yummy! Next time, I will try with a graham cracker crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      I have been making this recipe for years. My mom used to make it all the time when i was a kid.<br/>I made 4 of them the other day for the 4th of July cookout we had and there was none left! I practically ate a whole one myself! LOL! IF only i were kidding...........YIKES!<br/>Try it, it sure beats that glaze you buy in the plastic bag that is usually beside the strawberries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      Oh, this was just okay. I won't give it stars because I probably played around with the glaze too much. I sliced the berries thickly, and put maybe 2 1/2 cups into the pie. The glaze did seem too sweet, so I added some lemon without measuring. I only cooked the glaze with the one cup of hot water, then added an unmeasured amount of ice water before refrigerating, to thicken it before I poured it on the pie. I didn't use all of it on the pie, but it did seem like the pie was not full enough- of berries or glaze.<br/>I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      This went over well in my house. I used some of the suggestions I read in other reviews. I cut the water down to 1 1/4 cup and I also mixed the liquid and strawberry's together in a bowl before I added it to the pie crust. I used a store bought shortbread crust and my ingredients almost fit perfectly. I had just a touch left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Wonderful pie. Made a double batch. It makes enough to make three pies. So be aware when you double it, you will have enough glaze for 3 WONDERFUL pies. Thanks for the recipe. Highly recommend this easy pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This was awesome. I added some diced pineapple, left over from a banana split party, and used the juice to sub some of the water. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      5 star looks & directions/ 3 star taste. It was good but tasted more like a Jello pie to us, very sweet & too much glaze. It needed twice the amount of strawberries to make up for all the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I love strawberry pie and this is the first one I have ever made and the best I have ever tasted!! I used 1 1/4 cups of hot water but I also added 1/4 cup of bottled lemon juice. I heated it up and cooked only til translucent (only took a few minutes) it did not come to a rolling boil. I sliced up strawberries and quartered some so they fit in the pie shell more evenly. I also used another reviewers tip and poured the strawberries and gel into a glass bowl and let it cool in the bowl before pouring into the pie crust. Crispy pie crust, tangy sweet filling and topped with whipped cream DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing this will be made all summer long!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.3
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    30%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 31.7 g
    127%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites