112 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really love this pie too! I always pour the cooked jello filling into a big glass bowl on top of my cut up strawberries. I gently stir until filling is mixed well, then refrigerate to let it set up, usually overnight. The next day I stir it up again and pour it into my cooked pie shells. This way the crust doesn't get soggy at all from the hot liquid, and I'm better able to gague how much filling to put in without making a mess. Any extra gets put into parfait cups with whipped cream and my kiddo's eat it up! Good stuff!!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D's cooking March 14, 2011

Excellent! I can't believe that I just made this recipe yesterday, and it's gone! The strawberries take on such a nice flavor. The only bad part was waiting for it to set!! I would highly recommend this one!! Marianna U. Kretschmer

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianna U. Kretschmer April 09, 2002

Very easy, and a good way to celebrate the first berries of the season!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam Bayne March 12, 2002

Such a simple dessert and really good too, this was a Christmas dessert for us, I had planned on making this a few weeks ago, sure glad I did.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 25, 2001

I have made this recipe several times and instead of the regular boring pie crust, I use a shortbread pie crust that you can find at the store with the grahm cracker crust pie shells. I use 1 1/4 cup hot water to dissolve the gelatin and corn starch and do not add the cold water. After all, you are going to bring the mixture to a boil, so what is the point of the cold water? This smaller amount of water, along with the pint of strawberries is perfect to fill the store bought pie crusts (which seem to be smaller) without running over the top. It sets perfectly within a couple hours. If I were to ever make it in the standard pie pan, then I might need the additional water. Other than that this is a great recipe and everyone loves it. Very easy and quick to put together too!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotdoglover10 April 20, 2010

I made a sugar free version using sugar free jello and 1/4 cup of splenda, it got rave reviews from both the diabetic and non diabetics! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FnE April 30, 2010

Love this recipe. I've been making it for years after finding it on this site. In the direction I found the "cup of hot water" and "cup of cold water" confusing if you're directed to boil it all together anyway. I boil the jello, sugar, cornstarch and water with one cup of cold water (to dissolve the cornstarch) and after it has come to a boil, I add the other cup of cold water to cool it down faster and let it sit a little more before pouring it over the berries. I always use a graham crust to save on calories. Shortbread crusts are even better!<br/><br/>The graham crust doesn't get soggy until the second day -- that's if there's any left over! However, if you're in a hurry, don't be afraid to pour the jello mixture on top of the mounded berries and be sure to cover each piece, so they're sealed in the glaze. <br/><br/>I initially placed two pounds of whole berries in a pie shell. While it looks absolutely stunning, you can get a better cut if you halve the berries and pile them seed-side-up. They'll compact more.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefess June 29, 2014

This pie was delicious! I used a pint and a half of strawberrys because I accidentaly bought too much, and I used a reviewers suggestion of putting 4oz cream cheese mixed with 4 Tblsp powdered suger spread on the bottom. Other than that made exactly as written and it turned out great! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes July 13, 2009

This was amazing! I used an xl graham cracker crust and an egg slicer for the berries. It seemed like it took a while to set, but that's probably because I was so impatient! I will probably use less water next time so that it sets more solidly, and I'm going to try a strawberry/banana jello and add some banana slices on top and see how it goes!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ampm2715 July 08, 2014

This was really delicious even without whipped cream! I hate using boxed Jello, but have to admit it was very good in this pie. I used fresh strawberries from my garden and a store-bought graham cracker crust. Next time I'll be sure to have whipped cream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz May 30, 2013
Strawberry Strawberry Pie from THE REALLY GOOD FOOD COOK BOOK