Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Sorbet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Sorbet

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2009

      Amazing sorbet! I've made 3 times now and the last time was with frozen organic strawberries. Using the frozen strawberries it came out much sweeter than if using fresh. If using frozen, cut back on the sugar but not the water. I didn't use a ice cream machine. It freezes rock hard if left in the freezer overnight so you have to have patience and let it sit out for 30 minutes or so before eating if it's hard as a rock. Next time I will try substituting Triple Sec or Cointreau for part of the orange juice. Maybe using a little flavored alcohol will prevent it from freezing solid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Perfectly simple! I wanted a special treat for the 4th of July and this was easy and delicious. Fresh strawberries are very expensive where I live, so to double the recipe I used 2 16oz bags of frozen strawberries and I cut the sugar down to 1 1/4. I didn't have oj, so I used the juice of 1 lemon instead and it turned out very nicely sweet. I will probably use just 1 cup of sugar next time, but of course it depends on how sweet your strawberries are as well as your personal tastes. My son says it tastes just like fragola gelato- a better compliment I couldn't imagine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      My very first sorbet and it was no fail. Not only that but it was amazing. Within the 2 days I had to make 2 double batches! I'd love to try this with raspberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was my first attempt at Sorbet and I have to say, we both liked it very much. I liked it more than my husband because I like Strawberries, but it was just perfect!! We will be making this again in the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I LOVE THIS! It is so easy to make and tastes great. I wouldn't change a thing about it. This recipe has quickly become a staple for me- I make it almost weekly since it's so easy and only takes 25 minutes in my Cuisinart ice cream maker. My husband and I love it! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was so good. I put the sorbet in a freezer bag and squished it around while it was freezing and it just turned out great. I save it for a special treat. Thank you for posting. Acually I'm making more today as I have a lot of strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I love this sorbet! My mom loves it too. Both my mom and I think the secret is the orange juice. Thanks Judy from Hawaii for posting this recipe!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I made this today with a slight change. I added one 6 oz container of strawberry yogurt and it was yummy. Not really a sorbet with the yogurt but very smooth and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Loved it. Wouldn't try to make this freeze any more than the recipe calls for, as another comment suggests. Comes out rock hard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This was my first attempt at using my new ice cream maker that I got for Christmas; so easy! I accidentally used 1c sugar for my simple syrup, but it turned out fine; used 1lb (2c) fresh berries, and added the leftover juice of half a lemon to my OJ due to a cake recipe I'd just made. Served the sorbet alongside glazed lemon cake; it tasted great and they went well together in flavor and presentation. Thank you, "Judy from Hawaii"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Delicious! Tasted kind of like the strawberry sauce used at Dairy Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This is very yummy! It was a hit with the whole family. I used frozen strawberries that I thawed in the microwave for just a min. and it worked great. I will probably cut the amount of sugar next time....just a tad too sweet for DH and myself..of course DD thought it was perfect :-) Thanks...this is a definite keeper. I will probably try it with other fruits too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      I am glad I got to take Laurie's tag from the strawberry swap and make this recipe! So simple, yet so much intense flavor. Tastes exactly like the strawberry ice from a parlor in Indy that is no longer in business. All along I thought I couldn't get this stuff any more, when I could simply make it myself and save a good drive....LOL!! Thanks Judy for tagging Laurie because my family got the benefit of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Strawberries were so cheap in the market so I bought tons and tons. When it looked like we weren't going to be able to finish them all before they went a bit soft, I scoured Zaar for a way to use them up, and found this gem of a recipe. I made the recipe exactly as it, didn't change a thing. It was so yummy and refreshing. I served some with some pound cake and it make a very elegant dessert. This is the perfect recipe to use strawberries that are still good, but not picture perfect. Thanks again, Judy, for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Excellent! I really enjoyed this sorbet! It was easy to make and the results were great. I only stirred it once during freezing, then ate half of it last evening. YUM! Thanks Judy, for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Intense is a very good way to describe this sorbet. It's great for a hot summer day and fairly easy to make. The only thing I did differently was to boil the sugar syrup a bit longer to take it to a "short thread" stage. I learnt in a cooking class that this means the sorbet will not melt as quickly. I think this would also be good with lime juice instead of orange juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Sorbet

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    58%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 29.4 g
    117%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites