15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these were GINORMOUS!!! I would say you could even make them smaller and do a dozen or more of them from one batch! I guess I didn't realize that they really would expand a lot. haha. but these were delicious and i will definitely stick with this recipe. very light, flaky, and buttery!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miraclelove77 March 10, 2009

Thank you so much for the recipe. The instructions are very clear, and the results are delicious! The only thing I didn't have was the almond extract. I will definitely make this again many times. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nolita_Food July 07, 2008

These were wonderful. I had some frozen strawberries in the freezer I had to use up and found this recipe and was glad I did. Thanks for a great dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z April 19, 2008

Thanks kittencal for a wonderful summertime dessert! I made this for my sister's 21st birthday and it was a huge hit! I loved your easy to follow thourough intructions, knowing that I should use 1/2 c of dough per shortcake was very helpful. I will be making this often, it's a new family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akgrown August 12, 2006

Delicious!! Huge! Simple! Loved the almond extract and added some to the whipped cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 10, 2015

If I could give this 10 stars I would! It was fabulous!!!! They were huge shortcakes, but to be honest, the bigger the better - there's no point doing dessert by halves! The recipe was easy to follow and the shortcake was lovely, flaky and soft. Writing this review, I'm dreaming about them again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog February 13, 2015

Delicious biscuits, sweet strawberries, fluffy cream -- yum! Everyone loved this. I followed the advice of others and made 15 small biscuits instead of 8 big ones. They were a perfect size and I had plenty of leftovers (breakfast biscuit with jam the next morning!). Thanks Kittencal...your recipes are always winners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiianBaker May 27, 2013

Very tasty. Used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2. Next time will make smaller.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc April 23, 2011

Excellent shortcake. I used just the shortcake recipe, and I was very happy with how it turned out. I did find it a bit dry, but I also did not used whipped cream with the shortcake, so that could have contributed. Kids and husband both loved it, and it was very easy to do. I got 10 shortcakes. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth April 02, 2011

I made these tonight for the family. I personally loved the short-cake (they were huge!), but would like the strawberries in a sauce as I found this a little too dry. Everyone else really liked it so I gave it a 4 stars. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef for the love of sweets February 21, 2011
Strawberry Shortcake Old Fashioned Style!