15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins are very unique! I was afraid they wouldn't be sweet enough for me, but they were just perfect. The sugar sprinkled over the top gave them a crunchy, sweet topping that really completed the experience, and the strawberries poking out of the top made them very attractive. I think I overfilled them a little bit. It looked like they were 2/3 full, but I only ended up with 9, and after I pushed the strawberries into the batter they were overflowing their tops! But that doesn't bother me, because I still have 9 huge, delicious muffins to enjoy. Thanks for another keep, Jude!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree February 18, 2004

I loved how easy it was to make this recipe. I used Ener-G Egg Replacer in place of the egg since my son is allergic. I always love finding recipes that work with that! I agree with the other posts about needing more sugar. My husband usually doesn't like things really sweet, so I didn't really add more sugar expect making it a heaping 1/4 cup mixed in instead of a level 1/4 cup. However, he said it tasted kind of bland. I'll definitely make it again but add more sugar. We enjoyed ours with strawberries and blueberries and whipped cream on top! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 July 09, 2010

Fabulous! I will be posting photos of this in a day or two. Very easy to make last minute. I doubled the recipe, used a bit more sugar, and used a mini-loaf pan that made 8 mini loaves. My family gave this rave reviews! All 5 stars! We also topped with blueberries, raspberries and more strawberries and whipped cream. Yum! I think this will be the way I'll make shortcake more often - even more than my Grandma's recipe, and hers is really awesome too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK June 08, 2009

I just made these yesterday. I had to double the recipe because I needed 24 muffins and on the suggestion of other raters, I used more sugar in the batter and on top of the muffins than what the recipe called for and they came out great. They were crumbly and not too sweet as shortcake should be. I took these to work today and everyone liked them. They already asked me to make more. Thanks for the recipe. PS If you plan on making these, don't use paper cupcake liners because they stick to the paper (even when cooled). :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xdc421 April 21, 2009

So good! Though I changed it, I messed up and added a little less than 3/4c sugar to the mix. I put 1/2t sugar on top, and wish I'd put the whole t, the yummy sugary crust is too thin with just 1/2. I also chopped up the strawberries and folded them in right before putting into the tin. Great job on this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook November 14, 2008

We liked these a lot, but we did think that the batter needed just a bit more sugar and the topping less. DD made them as directed, but only used about 1/8 c sugar on the tops. They were super moist and light. DD said she will make them again, but will use the additional 1/8 c sugar in the batter rather than on the tops. Super easy to make which is always a plus! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM May 18, 2008

We really enjoyed these muffins for breakfast this morning. I added a little more sugar in the batter, because the strawberries weren't really sweet and it worked great for us! I love making different things for breakfast sometimes, so this fit the bill for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic April 16, 2008

not bad, a bit bland but the sugary top is great to counter that, but still, its a tad bland,i prefer richer muffin recipes i think, but this was healthier so i liked it. i subbed 1/4 cup oil for the butter. i also made mini muffins with these and baked them at 400 degrees instead of 425 for 15-18 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twiggyshell March 17, 2008

My DD loved these muffins her and her friends eat them all. She has already asked me to make them again, Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 18, 2007
Strawberry Shortcake Muffins