Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-114 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2005

      This was so very delicious!! It was easy to make...I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. I did follow other's suggestions and watched the bottoms of the shortcakes during baking time. I turned down the oven to 350 the last 5 minutes...they turned out picture perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Fantabulous. Made this for July 4th, and DH loved it. The bottoms of my shortcakes burned in just ten minutes, so, I guess I might try turning the oven down a little next time.. No problem, though, I sliced the burnt parts off. The cream is soooooo good. Thank you very much! I just had some of the leftovers for breakfast - hehe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      These were wonderful shortcakes. My husband usually makes shortcakes with Bisquick. These were certainly better and just as easy I thought. We'll be using this recipe again and again as we have fresh strawberries everyday for months. Thaks for sharing this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      This was way too sweet for our tastes. Next time, I plan to reduce the amount of sugar in each of the 3 'layers'. Also, after 15 minutes in the oven, the shortbread looked perfect on top but was burned to a crisp on the bottom. (Had to slice that part off.) I'd recommend you watch it carefully to get the exact timing down for your stove. Having said all that, I agree this was outrageously good! I would have been happy with just the cream and a spoon. :) With a little tweaking on the sugar, this will be the best strawberry shortcake on the planet. Thanks for sharing an absolute classic, PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      This was amazing!!!! I absolutely loved it! It's the best strawberry shortcake I've ever had....I will be making this again. I probably will cut back on the sugar a little. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      My DH announced this was the best shortcake I have ever made! Yeah! I followed your recipe exactly and it was delicious. It is a little sweeter than most shortcakes and the additional flavors of brown sugar and vanilla really make it stand out in the crowd. Thanks for a really great shortcake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      Nan, thank you so much for posting this. I love Treebeard's but had never had their Strawberry Shortcake. This is possibly the best recipe I have made on 'zaar. There were so many oohs and aahs over this recipe which I made on Mother's Day (including DH who isn't a big dessert fan) you wouldn't believe it. Made the shortcakes well in advance, and scooped out seven cakes rather than six, and the desserts were still a perfect serving size. I used a 1 lb. carton of strawberries for the filling, then cut up about another 1/2 lb. for the sliced strawberries. The whipped cream is to die for. Make this one per the instructions - you won't be disappointed - 500 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      This is an excellent shortcake recipe. I have the Treebeard's cookbook and all the recipes I have tried have been wonderful! Do watch the time though, I pulled mine out at 13 min. Next time will start checking at 10 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Delicious!Used this recipe and converted it more into a strawberry trifle than shortcake to take to a party.Baked the shortcake like a large cookie and then broke it into little chunks when it had cooled.In a glass bowl put layers of the strawberry mixture, the shortcake, some fresh strawberries and the cream. I ended with cream on the top and threw on lots of sliced strawberries.Chilled it for a few hours.Looked good and tasted great.Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      My son requested strawberry shortcake for his birthday. We picked your amazing recipe. The flavour of the cake was excellant, it was also flaky,tender and melted in your mouth, the filling was sweet with a wonderful whipped topping. The sour cream gives a nice thickness to the creme, but is not over powering. Thank you for sharing this outstanding recipe. I'll be making this again and again...can't wait to try it with raspberries and peaches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      We had this for the 4th of July. Absolutely wonderful! My husband even raved about them. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      This is wonderful! I made the cake and filling the same, but had to use whipped topping because I had neither whipping cream or sour cream. I especially like that I could make individual shortcakes. I don't like to make one big one because if it isn't all eaten, the leftovers aren't very appetizing with the strawberries soaking into the cake and the topping beginning to collapse. This way I make up the 4 we needed, and separately refrigerated the remainder. These looked so good! The cake was just the right texture. The vanilla in the filling really made it special. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      This was the best Strawberry Shortcake I have ever had. I made it for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. I did make a couple of changes, although not major ones. I put the batter on the cookie sheet in personal size dollops. About the size of a heaping tablespoon so I got 15 servings. I also doubled the strawberry filling and the cream recipe. Since I was getting more servings I needed more of everything. The cream was excellent!! Probably the best I have ever had and I am a big cream fan. It was also relatively easy. Definately a Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2004

      This was by far the best Strawberry Shorcake I've had. The sour cream added to the whipping cream was an excellent idea. As we were celebrating a family birthday I doubled the recipe and poured the shortbread mixture into two round cake pans, then after it was cooled made each one into two layers. The cake turned out to be one whopper of a cake as it was so big. And to make it look more like a birthday cake I also used 1/2 container of Cool Whip to cover the sides of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.2
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    45%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 104.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 552.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 47.6 g
    190%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites