117 Reviews

First strawberry shortcake of the season always tastes the best! Just to be sure though, I did eat two servings yesterday, ;) I liked that the shortcakes don't go to mush as soon as you add the berries, for me that's a huge PLUS - I hate soggy shortcake! These cakes were just right! Several reviewers noted getting more than 6 servings from this recipe and I only needed 4, so I cut the recipe in half - but I only got three shortcakes, so I made another half and ended up with a total of 7 shortcakes. Trust the recipe - its right on! Loved the shortcake, its not overly sweet! I reduced the sugar on the berries and subbed mostly splenda. I plan to make again when strawberries are in season up here in the North! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 11, 2009

This recipe is easy, tastes great and looks quite impressive when served. I cut back a bit on the sugar in the berries and the whipped cream and it tasted great. Next time, I will make 8-10 shortcakes as the 1/6 serving for each person was a bit much after a big meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerik June 01, 2009

Really good. I cut the amount of granulated sugar in half for the whipped topping and it was still sweet and yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M C D May 27, 2009

Made this over the weekend and it was a big hit! I loved the filling and the whipped cream was excellent...stayed firm! All around a big hit...made me wish I had room for thirds! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSparx May 26, 2009

I know this probably doesn't need another review but I just want to say thanks. Like you said, it's out of this world! It was easy to make, tasted great and I will also be adding this to my tried and true file. A million thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY May 14, 2009

The best strawberry shortcakes I've ever made, nice creamy crisp cakes, and the sour cream in the whipped cream makes this recipe. This one is in my permanent favorites collection, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence April 24, 2009

The shortcake is easy to make and lighter than many I've tried. It has a nice crispy outside and is moist inside. This will now be my go-to strawberry shortcake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy April 22, 2009

I made this for Easter and followed someone's suggestion to layer it into a trifle bowl. Everyone raved. Not only was it gorgeous but it was so flavorful. Of all the desserts served, and there were some standard favorites available, this was the only one that was gone by the end of the day. This is going into my family cookbook to be passed down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison K April 13, 2009

I made these shortcakes into 8 biscuits. (I rolled them out like biscuits). The shortcakes were extremely tender and delicious. I added a little extra granulated sugar to the shortcake batter. Strawberry shortcake is my all time favorite dessert and I didn't want a cream cheese layer or an angel food cake. This was the pure strawberry shortcake I remember as a child except much better! Excellent recipe which I definitely will be making again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 April 07, 2009
Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's