114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I work in a restaurant and I'm the only one willing to bake. I was looking for a great end of summer dessert to serve and this was it! I tripled the recipe- giving me 18 shortcakes!! Though by the time the staff was done sampling we only had 12 left. We put them on the menu on Friday night and sold out in no time. Everybody loved them- I also served them with an home made creme anglaise (vanilla sauce) infused with rum! Thanks for a great and simple recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneYetTwo September 06, 2009

Excellent. I used 1/2 white 1/2 whole wheat and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose August 23, 2009

This certainly doesn't NEED another review but I just made these and WOW .......they are delicious. I did only cook mine for 12 minutes as we like them only slightly browned. Thanks for a real winner of a recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Shef August 11, 2009

Love this. Best strawberry shortcake we've ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apasquini30 August 09, 2009

PanNan Very good shortcake, I've been looking for one. They come up so big, just the right texture. I do form them a bit with sugar on my fingers :) The brown sugar does add a certain flavor - YUM Baking for me was 13 - 15 at max. Great recipe-Thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
russell761 August 04, 2009

Best shortcake ever...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weefaith July 13, 2009

All I can say is...AWESOME. Didn't change a thing, but maybe next time I will make smaller cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jodi June 16, 2009

First strawberry shortcake of the season always tastes the best! Just to be sure though, I did eat two servings yesterday, ;) I liked that the shortcakes don't go to mush as soon as you add the berries, for me that's a huge PLUS - I hate soggy shortcake! These cakes were just right! Several reviewers noted getting more than 6 servings from this recipe and I only needed 4, so I cut the recipe in half - but I only got three shortcakes, so I made another half and ended up with a total of 7 shortcakes. Trust the recipe - its right on! Loved the shortcake, its not overly sweet! I reduced the sugar on the berries and subbed mostly splenda. I plan to make again when strawberries are in season up here in the North! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 11, 2009

This recipe is easy, tastes great and looks quite impressive when served. I cut back a bit on the sugar in the berries and the whipped cream and it tasted great. Next time, I will make 8-10 shortcakes as the 1/6 serving for each person was a bit much after a big meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerik June 01, 2009
Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's