Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2009

      I work in a restaurant and I'm the only one willing to bake. I was looking for a great end of summer dessert to serve and this was it! I tripled the recipe- giving me 18 shortcakes!! Though by the time the staff was done sampling we only had 12 left. We put them on the menu on Friday night and sold out in no time. Everybody loved them- I also served them with an home made creme anglaise (vanilla sauce) infused with rum! Thanks for a great and simple recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Excellent. I used 1/2 white 1/2 whole wheat and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This certainly doesn't NEED another review but I just made these and WOW .......they are delicious. I did only cook mine for 12 minutes as we like them only slightly browned. Thanks for a real winner of a recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Love this. Best strawberry shortcake we've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      PanNan Very good shortcake, I've been looking for one. They come up so big, just the right texture. I do form them a bit with sugar on my fingers :) The brown sugar does add a certain flavor - YUM Baking for me was 13 - 15 at max. Great recipe-Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Best shortcake ever...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      All I can say is...AWESOME. Didn't change a thing, but maybe next time I will make smaller cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      First strawberry shortcake of the season always tastes the best! Just to be sure though, I did eat two servings yesterday, ;) I liked that the shortcakes don't go to mush as soon as you add the berries, for me that's a huge PLUS - I hate soggy shortcake! These cakes were just right! Several reviewers noted getting more than 6 servings from this recipe and I only needed 4, so I cut the recipe in half - but I only got three shortcakes, so I made another half and ended up with a total of 7 shortcakes. Trust the recipe - its right on! Loved the shortcake, its not overly sweet! I reduced the sugar on the berries and subbed mostly splenda. I plan to make again when strawberries are in season up here in the North! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This recipe is easy, tastes great and looks quite impressive when served. I cut back a bit on the sugar in the berries and the whipped cream and it tasted great. Next time, I will make 8-10 shortcakes as the 1/6 serving for each person was a bit much after a big meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

    • on May 27, 2009

      Really good. I cut the amount of granulated sugar in half for the whipped topping and it was still sweet and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Made this over the weekend and it was a big hit! I loved the filling and the whipped cream was excellent...stayed firm! All around a big hit...made me wish I had room for thirds! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I know this probably doesn't need another review but I just want to say thanks. Like you said, it's out of this world! It was easy to make, tasted great and I will also be adding this to my tried and true file. A million thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      The best strawberry shortcakes I've ever made, nice creamy crisp cakes, and the sour cream in the whipped cream makes this recipe. This one is in my permanent favorites collection, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      The shortcake is easy to make and lighter than many I've tried. It has a nice crispy outside and is moist inside. This will now be my go-to strawberry shortcake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I made this for Easter and followed someone's suggestion to layer it into a trifle bowl. Everyone raved. Not only was it gorgeous but it was so flavorful. Of all the desserts served, and there were some standard favorites available, this was the only one that was gone by the end of the day. This is going into my family cookbook to be passed down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made these shortcakes into 8 biscuits. (I rolled them out like biscuits). The shortcakes were extremely tender and delicious. I added a little extra granulated sugar to the shortcake batter. Strawberry shortcake is my all time favorite dessert and I didn't want a cream cheese layer or an angel food cake. This was the pure strawberry shortcake I remember as a child except much better! Excellent recipe which I definitely will be making again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Loved the topping and the filling, but would have perfered to a sponge cake or anglefood cake instead of the shortcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      So great! We substituted a cup of the flour for whole wheat flour just to make it a tiny bit better for us and they were still amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      These were really good! My boyfriend (who isn't much of a sweets fan) went back for more, which made me feel more comfortable when I kept digging in for more bites. I used Splenda in place of the sugar, and found the filling and cream absolutely amazing. However, I wasn't as impressed the shortcake. I watched it so it wouldn't burn, but it wasn't very flavorful and the texture was a little funny (maybe this was due to my part with the processing?). Despite that, this recipe is still a keeper and I will be making it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.2
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    45%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 104.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 552.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 47.6 g
    190%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites