115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the shortcake & strawberries portion of this recipe; I didn't have the ingredients on hand for homemade whipped cream (next time I will!). And I will definitely make these again! Five stars...easy and delicious. Made a great summer evening dessert...and next morning breakfast! lol. I also made 9 shortcakes instead of 6, using my large cookie scooper to portion out the dough and baked them for about 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie June 12, 2011

Just made the shortcake part of this. Very good and will make these again using the electric mixer. I used parchment paper and thanks to the reviewer for the heads-up about the timing; mine were done at about 12 minutes. Tops were golden and the bottoms almost too dark. I got 9 "just right size".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gran Dee June 25, 2010

I've never tasted strawberry shortcake this delicious. I'll be making this again. The cooking time was off for me also. I'll cook it for 15 minutes next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksmith480 June 21, 2010

My husband loved this and asked me to make it for his birthday. The whipped cream is great. The shortcakes are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. We added a small amount of vanilla ice cream and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Bishop June 08, 2010

I made this for my family tonight and we really liked it. I really liked the texture of the shortcakes with the juice from the strawberries.....yummy. Thank you for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 01, 2010

A lovely homemade dessert that really pleased my family! With this recipe you don't have to stick with six servings, but can make one large or several small shortcakes. I baked the individual shortcakes on a pizza stone at 375 degrees for 18-22 minutes. Bake time was determined by size of the shortcake mounds. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes May 25, 2010

The recipe was for classic strawberry shortcake and it didn't let me down. Instead of making the whipped cream I substituted cool whip and it was perfect. I followed the biscuit recipe (1st time making them) and the only thing I would advise is to make sure the butter is cold when you put it in the food processor. I took the ingredients from the food processor and put it into my blender with the regular paddle attached then added the milk. I was told not to over mix the ingredients so as soon as the ball of dough formed I stopped, scraped down the sides of the bowl. I used a cookie scoop so the biscuits would be the same size. It was a quick and delicious desert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
achain2001 May 21, 2010

This is FANTASTIC! The only change I made was to double the fruit and I still feel like I came out a little bit short on it. But then we like a lot of strawberries with our shortcake... 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ May 18, 2010

This was soooooo delicious! Be careful when sprinkling on the sugar because it will stick to the pan. We split it up into eight because we had company. Everything was great about it: the cake, the cream topping, and the strawberries. It was a terrific recipe: Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave95 May 11, 2010
Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's