Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2010

    • on June 25, 2010

      Just made the shortcake part of this. Very good and will make these again using the electric mixer. I used parchment paper and thanks to the reviewer for the heads-up about the timing; mine were done at about 12 minutes. Tops were golden and the bottoms almost too dark. I got 9 "just right size".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I've never tasted strawberry shortcake this delicious. I'll be making this again. The cooking time was off for me also. I'll cook it for 15 minutes next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      My husband loved this and asked me to make it for his birthday. The whipped cream is great. The shortcakes are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. We added a small amount of vanilla ice cream and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I made this for my family tonight and we really liked it. I really liked the texture of the shortcakes with the juice from the strawberries.....yummy. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      A lovely homemade dessert that really pleased my family! With this recipe you don't have to stick with six servings, but can make one large or several small shortcakes. I baked the individual shortcakes on a pizza stone at 375 degrees for 18-22 minutes. Bake time was determined by size of the shortcake mounds. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      The recipe was for classic strawberry shortcake and it didn't let me down. Instead of making the whipped cream I substituted cool whip and it was perfect. I followed the biscuit recipe (1st time making them) and the only thing I would advise is to make sure the butter is cold when you put it in the food processor. I took the ingredients from the food processor and put it into my blender with the regular paddle attached then added the milk. I was told not to over mix the ingredients so as soon as the ball of dough formed I stopped, scraped down the sides of the bowl. I used a cookie scoop so the biscuits would be the same size. It was a quick and delicious desert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This is FANTASTIC! The only change I made was to double the fruit and I still feel like I came out a little bit short on it. But then we like a lot of strawberries with our shortcake... 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This was soooooo delicious! Be careful when sprinkling on the sugar because it will stick to the pan. We split it up into eight because we had company. Everything was great about it: the cake, the cream topping, and the strawberries. It was a terrific recipe: Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      This was the most delicious, rich yet light, strawberry shortcake I have ever had. For the first time ever I cleared my plate before my husband (he wasn't far behind). And so easy and fast to make! Thankyou for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful!! It is the best Strawberry Shotcake I've ever tasted. The shortcake itself is good enough to eat alone. The whipped cream is a little sweet, but it completes the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Used this recipe just for the shortcake...and it is SOOOO good. The right sweetness, the right crunchy outside, and cakey inside. This is our staple shortcake recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing! Easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Delicious! My daughter has a dairy intolerance so I substituted coconut oil for the butter and almond milk for regular milk. My cream didn't get stiff, but I didn't have granulated sugar on hand so I used powdered and maybe that had something to do with it, but the taste was amazing! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Though the whipped cream was a shade on the sweet side, adding the sour cream to it was wonderful! I will definitely reduce the sugar, probably by half. The shortcakes were out of this world though. Recommend this highly, but if you don't like super sweet, take it easy with some of the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Very good! I have never had strawberries with the vanilla in them and they were very delicious. Next time I'll have to make the whipped cream in the recipe but didn't have time for it today. The shortcake seemed pretty standard to me, just don't overbake because it will become extremely dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Delicious! I love the sprinkled sugar on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      awesome! i will def. make it again! best shortcake i have ever tasted! only took 10 min. at 400 degrees! served warm...guest loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This definitely satisfied my Strawberry Shortcake cravings! Excellent recipe! I fave a fan-forced (convection) oven, so I lowered the temperature to 400 F (205 C), and only baked for 12 minutes. It yielded a shortcake that was just right - crunchy on the outside, soft and warm on the inside. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      My shortcake got a bit too brown. Next time I'll reduce to 400 and start watching after 10 minutes. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This was so tasty! The only problem was my whipped cream didn't stay stiff... but that could have been because it was near something in the fridge that was still warm. Other than that, this was really delicious and easy. Even my husband loved it, and he's not much of a sweet-eater--his exact words were, "You've outdone yourself." :) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.2
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    45%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 104.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 552.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 47.6 g
    190%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites