Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2003

      PanNan, this recipe was so much fun to make! Your directions were simple to follow and I had excellent results! From the shortcake to the whipped cream, every bite was a taste treat! This shortacke has a nice sweetness to it that other shortcakes seem to miss. The strawberry filling w/ the added vanilla extract was sensational! The whipping cream with the added, not only confectioner's sugar, but also sour cream was incredible! This is a dessert that would definitely be considered "Company Worthy" in my book! Thank you so much PanNan, for bringing this wonderful recipe to Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      This recipe is a winner! I only changed the method of preparation, not the ingredients. I put all the dry ingredients directly into my sifter, and sifted them once into the bowl to make the shortcakes lighter. I cut in the cold butter with a pastry blender (didn't want to drag out the heavy mixer) until the mixture resembled coarse meal. Then I added the milk and mixed the dough with a butter knife (this keeps you from over handling the dough). I followed the filling part of the recipe exactly and added canned whipped topping instead of the whipped cream in the recipe. They turned out delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      These were awesome shortcakes! The only changes I made were to sub Greek yogurt for the sour cream and to use a little extra vanilla in the cakes and the whipped cream. I also cut the calories somewhat by subbing Splenda for all the granulated sugar. Keep an eye on these in the oven after 10 minutes; the bottoms brown much faster than the tops. I also thought this was a huge portion of shortcake. I also prefer my shortcake almost soggy with sauce so next time I will make 12 smaller cakes and more filling/ whipped cream. I also think subbing a strawberry balsamic reduction for the filling would be amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This has great taste, but I think the cooking time is off. I baked my cakes at 450 for 15 mins and the edges were too dark for my taste. Will be making this again, but will bake a little less or turn down the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2014

      I made this for my husband's birthday and he loved it as did the rest of the family. I will use this for my shortcakes from now on. I will confess that I did not add the granulated sugar to the whipped cream topping mixture, only the confectioners 1/4 cup. Just enough sweet for us. <br/>Also, I do believe that the cooking temp was too high and too long for my oven. I watched closely and pulled the shortcakes out at 13 minutes. All ovens differ so I think I'll go with 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes the next time. Excellent desert for my recipe box! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      This is a great dessert that needs a couple of modifications to make it the best.<br/><br/>I'll say right off the bat that the cooking time or temperature is too high. I cooked ours 15 minutes then checked it and the shortcake was already overdone... dark/slightly burned on the bottom and just a little too dark on the top. But I sliced off the very bottom and it was still a great dessert.<br/><br/>This is what I would do to improve it...<br/>1) Make smaller cakes (I would make about 9 cakes out of the recipe as written).<br/>2) Make more berry mixture. I would use about 50% more berries and adjust the recipe accordingly (we ran out of berries... better too much than not enough).<br/>3) Bake on 390 degrees F, check at 13 minutes and add a little time if necessary.<br/>4) The sugar (both powder and granulated sugar) can easily be cut in half in the whipped cream mixture and it is still PLENTY SWEET!<br/><br/>Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Perfect little shortcakes! The food processer and stand mixer made it so fast and easy : ) I made 9 and baked at 425 for about 12 minutes. Love the vanilla added to the strawberries! Didn't do the real whipped cream because I didn't have any cream at the time, but the squirt stuff was okay in a pinch. I could see this being a great "company dessert" with the real whipped cream part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      Best shortcake I ever had. Instead of a food processor, I mixed all of the dry ingredients and then grated a stick of butter into the mixture. I tossed it into the flour and then added the milk. I used raw sugar on top and was way more liberal with it than the recipe called for. Leftover shortcakes are good for breakfast the next morning with a little jam. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Didn't make the cream but was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      amazing recipe. thank you made it for my wife and she fell outta the seat. she loves short cake and said it was the best she has ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I loved this, although I didn't use the whipped topping mixture because I have canned whipped cream to use up. The strawberries were good, but the biscuits were the amazing part! I doubled the sugar in the biscuits and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Man, I could eat them with just butter slathered on them for breakfast even if I didn't have any fruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      We really enjoyed these strawberry shortcakes. Easy to make and sooo delicious. DH really enjoyed them too. We used to order a similar dish at a restaurant that is now no longer in business. So glad to have this recipe handy since I have access to freshly picked strawberries at a local Farmer's Market. Made for Name That Ingredient tag, May, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      The shortcakes were very good (though I made them by hand and not in the food processor) and they strawverry filling was great (though I ended up slicing all of the strawberries and not following the directions). Where I had issues was the amount of filling. I made a half batch of the shortcake as four cakes and a full batch of the strawberries--and I really only had enough strawberries for three shortcakes. I think I will make this again, but for me, it will be with half again as many berries for half of the shortcake. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This was excellent! The only change I made was in using peaches instead of strawberries. The shortcakes came out sort of large so next time (and there definately will be a next time) I'll make them a little smaller so there will be more! Everyone loved the whipped cream too! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      These were quite good but I found the shortcake itself a bit bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I only used the shortcake part of the recipe, but they turned out excellent! The only change I made was to used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour to make them a little healthier. I baked them the recommended temp and time and they came out perfect for me. Maybe I made mine a little bigger? Anyway, they tasted fantastic and were still moist and soft inside. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This was a snap to make and my kids loved it. Made a double recipe, no changes and they were lovely. Might bake slightly less time next time and may use parchment. Thanks for a good summer dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Very simple recipe. But VERY YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Absolutely amazing. The only change I would make is on the cooking time. At 15 minutes my shortcakes were a bit overcooked. Maybe check after 10 or cook at a lower temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      I used the shortcake & strawberries portion of this recipe; I didn't have the ingredients on hand for homemade whipped cream (next time I will!). And I will definitely make these again! Five stars...easy and delicious. Made a great summer evening dessert...and next morning breakfast! lol. I also made 9 shortcakes instead of 6, using my large cookie scooper to portion out the dough and baked them for about 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Shortcake a la Treebeard's

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.2
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    45%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 104.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 552.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 47.6 g
    190%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes