14 Reviews

This was a decent cake. I chose to make this one because it didn't require eggs since my son is allergic to eggs. It was enjoyed by all, but I did taste the aftertaste mentioned in another comment. It was still drier than I like (although I'm finding that's typical for this kind of cake), but it worked for what I was looking for. My only complaint about making it was that the batter was really sticky making it really hard to spread in the pans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 March 21, 2011

We made this last night, only using frozen strawberries. I liked how the cake turned out, mine usually get crumbly and hard. This cake stayed nice and soft. My family had mixed reviews, DS didn't care for the cake he said it had a funny aftertaste. The rest of us however, loved it and want it again. Thank you for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 16, 2010

OK I am a confessed chocoholic - but I little bit of chocolate syrup will improve both the taste and display of this already amazing dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JIM ANON April 23, 2010

the 3 tablespoons needs to be changed to 3 teaspoons maybe..my little sister tried to make this tonight and as you might have guessed it turned out terribly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosborou June 21, 2009

I actually followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me) & it came out great. It also looks very impressive. I wasn't sure how well it would keep, so I made the parts in advance & assembled right before serving. The only thing I might change, unlike the previous posters, is possibly use a little more strawberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande May 30, 2009

Easy to make yet very yummy. Everyone loves it at supper tonight. I only used 2 cups of strawberries because that was all I had available and it was still enough berries for the cake. I would use the syrup from the berries and sugar on the biscuit next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fabelicious April 11, 2009

Just like my Mom made,great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie March 10, 2008

PERFECTION in a cake. I've never had a better cake- and I've had a lot! Thank you for this wonderous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vels February 06, 2008

Not many recipes get a five star review from me, but this was hands down...HEAVENLY! Thanks for sharing-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn April 16, 2007

Great recipe - I did use almond extract instead of vanilla - also frozen berries as fresh are out of season Great recipe and a wonderful treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie November 04, 2006
Strawberry Shortcake