9 Reviews

Love the dressing! It is quite sweet and the strawberries are too, so this is a salad that kids would probably enjoy (especially if you used iceberg). I thought it could use more dressing and almonds for such a huge amount of lettuce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 21, 2011

Excellent! I already had some lemon poppy seed dressing on hand but used the recipe for a perfect combination to pour it over. I used iceberg lettuce and my almonds were candied. Next time I will use this recipe for the dressing as well. Thanks for posting such a delightful recipe, Brooke the Cook in WI.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick April 23, 2013

This was delicious! The lemon zest was so good in it! The only change I made was to use sugar instead of Splenda (DH is a bit picky about it). We also didn't toast the almonds, but they were perfect as is. The veggies (and fruit) were all organic - I swear you can taste the difference! Thanks for the new and tasty addition to our salad repertoire! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 27, 2010

I *loved* this salad! I don't care for onions so left them out. I used red wine vinegar as it's what I had on hand and the dressing was *perfect* with the lettuce, cukes, and strawberries. Terrific summer salad - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT6, Zwizzle Chicks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 25, 2010

We really enjoyed the dressing as well as the salad, especially the combo of poppy seeds, almonds & strawberries! Will have to keep this colorfully different salad in mind when next we have company for dinner! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 24, 2010

Light, simple and easy to prepare. I substituted agave nectar for the sugar substitute and reduced the amount to 1 tablespoon. For the greens: baby arugula and spinach. I think a scattering of fresh mint would be most tasty in this salad. Thank you! The salad paired nicely with Cornish Pasties. Reviewed for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 23, 2010

A wonderfully light and delicious salad. The dressing was a good match for this salad since it wasn't a heavy dressing. I made this just as written, using spring mix greens for the base. I think some crumbled goat cheese would be an excellent topping for this. I will do that next time. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 21, 2010

Delicious salad.....One substitution... spinach for the greens....really a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roniinthekitchen May 13, 2010

Wonderful salad! There was nothing that I disliked about it...I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing! Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 28, 2009
Strawberry Salad W/ Poppy Seed Dressing