35 Reviews

I've been trying to get the family to eat more salads, so I decided to give this one a try. I really didn't know what to expect (as we don't usually mix fruit into our green salads), but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this salad! My husband liked it, too... and my 15-month old twins loved the strawberries and cucumbers. Hardly any left-overs, which is a plus. My only complaint (and it's a small one) is that the dressing is a tad too sweet for us. I will make this again, but I'll cut the honey in half.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady November 05, 2013

A great, light salad! It makes very generous servings. The flavors are great. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 44

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 07, 2012

This is a really light salad, which would be great alongside some heavier flavours. I found it a tad sweet (used agave instead of honey), but I liked it. I used a mix of greens as well as romaine, and added half an avocado that I had to use up - was a nice addition. I think some nuts in this would be great too. Thanks Elmotoo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner July 18, 2011

Wonderful, light salad. Made it for dinner tonight for my family of five and we had no leftovers.
I will make this regularly this summer. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa S. June 12, 2011

This was my contribution to Easter dinner and it was very well received. I made this as written except for doubling the amount of strawberries. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario April 25, 2011

Delicious and a welcome change in the middle of the week from an ordinary tossed salad! Also think this will be great with some tuna or chicken added for lunch. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ April 20, 2011

This is DELICIOUS! And that dressing is the stuff dreams are made of! The sweet along with the balsamic vinegar is just divine and the perfect contrast to the sweet strawberries. A really great salad recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog April 18, 2016

Yum! I was saying to myself "how could I improve on this"? and the only thing I could think of was adding roasted sunflower seeds! Seeds or no, this was a winner! Used some of the produce from our CSA box in the salad, too. Can't wait to make it again! Reviewed for Veg Tag/April.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl April 19, 2011

The was great with an avocado and egg salad andwich for supper last night! I used spinach in place of the romain and only 1/2 the honey because like another reviewer I am not big on sweet! I also added a bit of feta to add some saltiness! Mmmm. So good! Thanks for posting! Made for Veg*n Swap June 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ June 25, 2010

I have to admit I added lots of extra strawberries (they were on sale) and because my husband loves them. I am allergic, so I went around them. My husband really liked the salad and is taking the leftovers to work tomorrow. Even without the strawberries it had a good flavor, will try adding raspberries next time for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 18, 2010
Strawberry Romaine Salad