Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2001

      Excellent recipe! For my first Strawberry-Rhubarb pie experience. I did find however using store bought pie shells there is a little to much filling, that ended up on the bottom of my oven, even using a cookie sheet. I am about to make another one with a friend. I am about to make another one with a friend. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This was the answer to a prayer. Wonderful sweet and sour taste and so easy to make. My hubby says this is his favorite new pie. Thanks! Dolores

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2002

      The addition of the eggs in the filling is a plus. The last pie I made was runny. Very easy to made, even if you made your own pie shell which I prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Great recipe. My son is home for the summer and strawberry-rhubarb pie is his favourite. I made exactly as per the recipe, but instead of the lattice top, I used a flour, butter and sugar mixture that I crumbled over the top. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Based on some comments from previous reviews, I used 2 extra large eggs instead of 3, 1 C sugar instead of 1 1/4, added a few drops of almond flavoring and a couple Tbsp water. But I stuck with the original amounts of fresh rhubarb and strawberries which I thought was perfect for our taste. Making the lattice top was somewhat time consuming because I was not used to doing that and had to look up an online tutorial. After the first 15 minutes in the oven, I placed a silicon pie shield over outside edge of the pie crust the to protect it from getting overbaked. That is something I do with nearly all pies and which I recommend. The pie turned out perfectly baked and it looked and tasted great. Neither too sour or too sweet. This is one that I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      This recipe appealed to me because of how easy it was.The ingredients were simple- all you have to go out of your way for is the rhubarb and strawberries. I used a little more rhubarb and strawberries than what the recipe called for and only 1 cup of sugar. I found this to be perfect. I don't like things that are overly sweet and this seemed to work. You must have an appreciation for sour though, like apple pie's made with Granny Smith's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      It was good! Everyone enjoyed! In the future I would add a little more Flour for thickening because it was runny and a few drops of food coloring to make it a deeper red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Worth every star! Just for personal preferences, I used mini-tart shells and skipped the lattice work on the top. For each tart I put a handful- enough to form a small mound- of rhubarb/strawberries in each cup and then poured the egg mixture over them individually until the mixture filled 3/4 of the cup. I posted a pic of the finished tart to show how it turned out. Overall, very nice texture, flavor, and combination. I'll be making this regularly through-out the rhubarb season, and trying it out on my raspberries once they've grown in!!! Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2002

      This pie went over pretty well with everyone. The one thing I would change would be more strawberries, and less rhubarb! I like a little less of the sour I guess. I didn't add the whole strawberries into the lattice holes, but I did apply egg wash to the pie for that nice shiny effect. Also, this time of year, I can't get fresh strawberries or rhubarb, so I used frozen whole strawberries, which I sliced, and frozen sliced rhubarb. I used a 9 inch Pillsbury Pet-Ritz DEEP crust (frozen), and I used a Pillsbury All Ready Pie crust (ready to use--refrigerated) for the lattice on top. I used my egg wash to help the pie dough stick the the frozen crust (it was semi-thawed by the time I did this). We had this pie (I made two of them) today for Christmas dinner. We took pictures with my digital camera, and I have uploaded a picture for this recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      This is so good. The only thing I did different was ... I bought the pie crust and used one for the bottom and one on top just cut slits for the top one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      This recipe is one of my favorites. I was visiting my dad's ranch and he had lots of rhubarb growing in the garden so I made use of as much as possible. With the addition of strawberries this was a perfect blend of sweet and sour. I used refrigerated pie crusts so it was easy making a lattice top crust. I brushed with milk and sprinkled with sugar to give a really pretty crust. This is a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      I made this with my 5 year old grandson, who loves fruit! It turned out great! He had 2 pieces and wanted another!! I used 3 cups of assorted berries (strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and blueberries) along with 2 cups of rhubarb. Also, added 1 T quick cooking tapioca.

      I will make this again and again. Thanks!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This was absolutely delicious! I had to sub Splenda for the sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe to a 'T' and it turned out perfectly. I used fresh strawberries that had been rinsed and drained and my filling held up marvelously - no issues.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Excellent! Took this to a party with about 25 people there and they cleaned it up. They were sharing pieces to make sure they all got a taste and even the people who didn't think they liked rhubarb liked this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This pie is very good but the texture was a bit custard-y. Next time I'll use only 2 eggs and see how that works out. It is a very pretty pie and a summer speciality.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Well, I like this recipe very much. I made it several times in the spring/summer using fresh and twice in the last 2 weeks using frozen. For the frozen I make sure to thaw the strawberries and the rhubarb and drain them sufficiently.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      This did not set up at all.I cut into it and it was soup,total liquid.It was a waste of time and ingredients.I definitely will not make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      This was delicious...I didn't really follow the amounts...I just put enough strawberries in rhubarb in to fill two pies, then made the egg mix to pour on top. I made a different crust recipe that was super simple and delicious...I used whole wheat flour and I think it added a nice touch of flavor. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I really enjoyed this pie. My weekly produce delivery included rhubarb and strawberries so I needed a recipe. I had 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb and 2 1/2 cups of strawberries. It worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This was a very good pie, and I will be making it again!
      The only changes I would make is to add a little more strawberries and less rhubarb. I took this to work for a co-worker's birthday and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.4
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    27%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 98.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 308.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 44.0 g
    176%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes