77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! For my first Strawberry-Rhubarb pie experience. I did find however using store bought pie shells there is a little to much filling, that ended up on the bottom of my oven, even using a cookie sheet. I am about to make another one with a friend. I am about to make another one with a friend. Thanks again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle baker July 02, 2001

This was the answer to a prayer. Wonderful sweet and sour taste and so easy to make. My hubby says this is his favorite new pie. Thanks! Dolores

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolores Richards September 09, 2002

The addition of the eggs in the filling is a plus. The last pie I made was runny. Very easy to made, even if you made your own pie shell which I prefer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni February 27, 2002

Great recipe. My son is home for the summer and strawberry-rhubarb pie is his favourite. I made exactly as per the recipe, but instead of the lattice top, I used a flour, butter and sugar mixture that I crumbled over the top. Excellent!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha June 24, 2009

Based on some comments from previous reviews, I used 2 extra large eggs instead of 3, 1 C sugar instead of 1 1/4, added a few drops of almond flavoring and a couple Tbsp water. But I stuck with the original amounts of fresh rhubarb and strawberries which I thought was perfect for our taste. Making the lattice top was somewhat time consuming because I was not used to doing that and had to look up an online tutorial. After the first 15 minutes in the oven, I placed a silicon pie shield over outside edge of the pie crust the to protect it from getting overbaked. That is something I do with nearly all pies and which I recommend. The pie turned out perfectly baked and it looked and tasted great. Neither too sour or too sweet. This is one that I will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1122bluewater April 29, 2012

This recipe appealed to me because of how easy it was.The ingredients were simple- all you have to go out of your way for is the rhubarb and strawberries. I used a little more rhubarb and strawberries than what the recipe called for and only 1 cup of sugar. I found this to be perfect. I don't like things that are overly sweet and this seemed to work. You must have an appreciation for sour though, like apple pie's made with Granny Smith's.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avd481 May 16, 2011

It was good! Everyone enjoyed! In the future I would add a little more Flour for thickening because it was runny and a few drops of food coloring to make it a deeper red.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyanne192003 June 05, 2010

Worth every star! Just for personal preferences, I used mini-tart shells and skipped the lattice work on the top. For each tart I put a handful- enough to form a small mound- of rhubarb/strawberries in each cup and then poured the egg mixture over them individually until the mixture filled 3/4 of the cup. I posted a pic of the finished tart to show how it turned out. Overall, very nice texture, flavor, and combination. I'll be making this regularly through-out the rhubarb season, and trying it out on my raspberries once they've grown in!!! Thanks very much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronanlouise June 08, 2008

This pie went over pretty well with everyone. The one thing I would change would be more strawberries, and less rhubarb! I like a little less of the sour I guess. I didn't add the whole strawberries into the lattice holes, but I did apply egg wash to the pie for that nice shiny effect. Also, this time of year, I can't get fresh strawberries or rhubarb, so I used frozen whole strawberries, which I sliced, and frozen sliced rhubarb. I used a 9 inch Pillsbury Pet-Ritz DEEP crust (frozen), and I used a Pillsbury All Ready Pie crust (ready to use--refrigerated) for the lattice on top. I used my egg wash to help the pie dough stick the the frozen crust (it was semi-thawed by the time I did this). We had this pie (I made two of them) today for Christmas dinner. We took pictures with my digital camera, and I have uploaded a picture for this recipe. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H. Cato December 25, 2002

This is so good. The only thing I did different was ... I bought the pie crust and used one for the bottom and one on top just cut slits for the top one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim1 June 23, 2002
Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie