17 Reviews

I never made strawberry rhubarb pie before. This was very easy. Mine turned out a little runny so next time I will try to add a little more tapioca. Got rave reviews at church pie social though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momswyz May 03, 2003

Love, love, love this pie! I made this for my parents, then ended up in the hospital so didn't get to review until now. I used frozen rhubarb and strawberries that I let thaw and drain well. I was concerned about the pie being "soupy" so used closer to a 1/3 cup of tapioca which was perfect. Delicious! I also used splenda in place of sugar which was just great! Thanks Lor! I'll be making this often with our fresh rhubarb. Made for KK's Strawberry Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom May 22, 2010

I doubled the recipe and made 2 pies, one for home and one to take to a fellowship meal. What a hit! Should have taken both to dinner as the first didn't last 5 min after it was cut. This is a recipe to keep close at hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryAnn Halstead June 29, 2009

Never made strawberry rhubarb pie before but have had many requests from cutomers, friends and family. This recipe was A-1! I used granulated tapioca and Splenda in place of the sugar. I used the full cup and it was still the perfect sweet/tart and no one knew it was sugar-free! I also used egg wash instead of the milk/sugar topping but that is just personal preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KDLUVVIES May 29, 2009

Fantastic! all of my guests raved! I made this recipe in a deep dish pie pan... so I increased bothered the strawberries and rhubarb to 3 cups each. Both fruits were fresh from the garden. Oh! And I used tapioca instead of corn starch- much better! I did not increase the tapioca but will the next time I make this recipe to compensate for the additional fruit. I'll add an additional tablespoon of tapioca. This is my new "go-to" Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrimerri June 26, 2013

My son requested strawberry rhubarb pie and I decided to try this one out. I didn't want to have a runny pie so I upped the tapioca amount to 1/3 cup and it set up too much. Made the filling a little more "jello" like instead of a nice sauce. Great flavor but will plan to not up the tapioca like I did the first time. All in one's personal preference I guess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW August 10, 2011

Very nice pie,I've been using only one crust on my pies to cut on calories.Used Splenda in it and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie January 24, 2010

Yummy pie. I made this a few times all ready and forgot to rate it. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama August 29, 2009

We love pies and this one was simply delicious! I followed the recipe and my pie came out perfect! I used frozen rhubarb that I froze myself and made sure it was thawed before preparing the pie. Yummm!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me January 17, 2009

Followed the recipe perfectly (using cornstarch) but the pie was too wet. The taste was great, especially with a little nutmeg...but it needs at least twice the amount of cornstarch. Perhaps if I had gone the tapioca route it would have turned out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Son of Thunder March 30, 2008
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie