12 Reviews

I followed Danny's measurements using the 5 cups of sugar, but changed the method after making my first batch. The first time I followed the instructions exactly even though it went against my years of canning expereince. It didn't set right away (once it had cooled completely), instead took a few days. For the second attempt I first mixed the sugar and fruit. Then brought this up to a full rolling boil and then added the liquid pectin and boiled for one minute then jarred. It set the way I was accustumed and I was able to use it that evening. Thank you for sharing your wondeful recipe with us. I plan on using it every year. My husband said it had the best flavor of any rhubarb jam yet!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emschumacher July 06, 2009

This was my first attempt at EVER making Jam! I have to say it turned out amazing. After reading the reviews I also cut back on the sugar (5 cups per batch) and I also coated the fruit in the sugar before bringing to a boil. I did my recipe different. I used 6 cups frozen rhubarb and 4 cups frozen whole strawberries, 10 cups of sugar and 2 pkgs of DRY pectin. It turned out amazing!! Everyone in my family and my friends kept wanting more and when given a jar, it was gone within a couple of days. I must have done something right! Thank you for all the reviews and helping me make my first jam a wonderful one! I have shared this recipe with friends and family because they liked it so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tollers73 August 15, 2012

I tool added the pectin last and boiled for one minute because with all the canning I've done over the years adding the pectin to the fruit and then adding sugar and boiling it will not set up. That's to much cooking of the pectin. So you cook the fruit, add the sugar, bring to a boil a few minutes then add the pectin, stir and add to jars at that point. By following the recipe you're over cooking the pectin and it will not set.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rysharen July 14, 2011

I have made strawberry-rhubarb jam all my life but, this is by far the best recipe ever. The only thing I changed is, I used only 5 cups of sugar. I grow Hood Strawberries since they are the tastiest but small strawberries. I grow Canada red rhubarb. I feel using these two varieties made a difference in the taste also. This is awesome jam. It made 6 half pints with 1/4 cup left over for tasting. Marcia

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mighell June 15, 2010

Lovely flavor of strawberries but I think the rhubarb flavor was lost. Nice Jam but I'm looking for more rhubarb flavor. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl June 15, 2007

This was my first attempt at making jam and it turned out AMAZING! My sister in law said "Oh my gosh this tastes just the way our mom made it". If you knew what high regards they place their moms baking/cooking you would know what an ultimate compliment this was. I actually used 2 1/2 cups rhubarb to 2 1/2 cups strawberries and it was great ! I will deff be making this again ! I am excited to try different jams now that I know its not that hard ! Thanks for the great recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NicholeChristina August 18, 2014

I just made this. Had more rhubarb than strawberries, so I used three cups rhubarb to two cups strawberries, and I used seven cups of sugar. I got seven half-pints. I think it's a bit too sweet, but I thought the added rhubarb called for the full seven cups of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacklover September 17, 2010

My sisters and I made this jam this weekend. We followed the recipe except we did not have liquid pectin and we used 1 box of dry. It set up beatifully, tasted great, and looked lovely. We will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maria #2 May 31, 2010

this smells amazing when its cooking. Lovely flavours. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misstasty October 29, 2006

This is awesome! I made 2 batches over the weekend. The 1st batch I made with the dry pectin because it said "box" and I didn't notice the size until later. The 2nd batch was made with the liquid pectin (3 oz "box"). Both turned out wonderfully though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soapy QtrNote June 13, 2006
Strawberry Rhubarb Jam