Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert Bars

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2012

      I've never been a huge fan of fruit desserts, but these are really good (I did have EXCELLENT strawberries and rhubarb, though -- crisp rhubarb and sweet and perfectly ripe berries from the farmers' market). I followed the recipe exactly. I lined my baking pan with tin foil, then pan sprayed it, and I was glad I did as the edges get quite sticky. I did add the lemon-based drizzle rather than the milk and felt it added exactly the right little extra. I will use my food processor rather than my hand mixer for the crust next time I make this -- the hand mixer just never quite seemed to get the crust perfectly crumbled for me. I will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      I read some of the reviews below and decided to double the fruit part of this recipe. After I did that I thought oh boy I might have too much fruit for the dough. So I did 1/3 more of the dry ingredients except the brown sugar. It turned out fabulous. I would do this recipe again. thank you for the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I used frozen rhubarb and Old Fashioned Oats. I was confused by ingredient description because Quick Oats are not Old Fashioned. I should have used Quick Oats but it still turned out fine. Thought there could have been more (double?) filling and it really didn't need the extra sweetness of the drizzle although it was good. I used lemon juice w/powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Loved these little bars! I'm a crust person, and usually like more crust than filling, but this filling is SO good that next time I'm going to make more of it, as some other reviewers have said. The combination of the twangy rhubarb and the sweet strawberries is just delicious! I also used the food processor to make the crust, and then iced the bars with a lemony cream cheese drizzle. My rhubarb-loving husband is in heaven. Great recipe! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      AMAZING! It had everybody licking their fingers and beggin for seconds! I didn't have fresh strawberries so I used a container of frozen strawberries and it turned out just fine. I recommend doubling the filling because I found I wanted more fruit. Over all an amazing and easy recipe that I will continue to use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I liked the recipe and I liked the bars the first day. They become softer each day so I need to make them when I know they will be eaten all at once. I used a food processor to make the crust and it is so much easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Yummm. My kids loved these bars. I had more fresh rhubarb than strawberries, so I adjusted the filling ingredients as follows: 3 cups rhubarb, 1/2 cup strawberries, 1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water (no lemon juice), 2 T cornstarch. I used butter to grease the pan - no sticking at all. I did not have quick oats, so I used rolled oats, which I probably prefer anyway. Thanks for the recipe, Muffin Goddess! This is going in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      I can't wait to try this again when I have some rhubarb! The store was out and I was set to make these bars, so I substituted blueberries, but nobody minded. I ended using 3 cups sliced strawberries and 1 cup blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      We weren't crazy about the crust on these. And there wasn't enough fruit filling for us. I think they would be better with more fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I was told this is the best dessert I've brought to Guadalupe House! They loved it.
      I'm thinking of making it for tomorrow with blueberries instead of strawberries. I bet that will work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I made a half recipe of these bars and based on previous reviews made the filling a little thicker. Fabulous taste! I had difficulty getting them out of the pan even though it was well greased so next time I would line the pan with foil so I could just lift them out. I did make the glaze with lemon which takes them over the top tart!! I like them this way. I was lazy in mixing the glaze so little bits of icing sugar show up in the photo.
      Thoroughly enjoyed and made for Food.Commandos. ~ ZWT 7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I've never liked rhubarb before but this recipe changed my mind! There is just the perfect amount of it between the oatey layers. My only complaint was that it was a tad too sweet. Next time I'll leave off the drizzle and cut the sugar a bit. Made for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I love this.. My friend doesn't like rhubarb, so I used strictly strawberries. However, I doubled the fruit recipe portion. I enjoy a heartier squares and I chopped the berries to chunks instead. Absolutely, loved it and the neighbors commented on the aroma. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Delicious! My strawberries ended up going bad, so I added more rhubarb and some extra sugar - great way to use up the rest of the rhubarb I had! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      Love this, was a huge hit and made it several times this past summer. Thanks for the share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I wanted to make something with rhubarb and strawberries that would be gluten-free for my son that he could enjoy. I used 3/4 cup of white rice flour and 3/4 cup of brown rice flour instead of the all-purpose flour. He absolutely loved the bars! I freeze them so he can have a dessert to enjoy when we have a dessert that he is unable to eat. They are so yummy it was hard to keep my husband and other son from eating them all up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Made a double batch of these bars with the lemon glaze. A nice change from the usual rhubarb recipes. I like the tartness that the lemon gives the fruit. Thanks-this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      My family doesn't eat dessert with every meal but once in a while a little sweet treat finishes a dinner. I had 2 beautiful quarts of juicy strawberries and just couldn't seem to find fresh rhubarb. I used some frozen and hoped for the best. It's cooling right now awaiting the lemon icing sugar drizzle. The most wonderful aroma is spreading around the house luring everyone to the kitchen. Having tasted a little on the sly, I'm sure everyone will love it. Great balance of sweet and tart. Thank you for sharing your recipe Muffin Goddess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      outside of cutting down on the sugars (replacing it with a bit more rolled oats in the crust) and using too large of a pan (they turned out thinner than i would have liked but that is my doing), i followed the recipe pretty closely. i really like the rhubarb/strawberry/lemon juice combination. i think reducing the sugar in this was also a good idea. i will definitely try this again with a smaller pan for thicker bars. i am looking forward to giving them as a mother's day present tomorrow. :) i will take a photo once the dizzle is settled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    32%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 105.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites