26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never been a huge fan of fruit desserts, but these are really good (I did have EXCELLENT strawberries and rhubarb, though -- crisp rhubarb and sweet and perfectly ripe berries from the farmers' market). I followed the recipe exactly. I lined my baking pan with tin foil, then pan sprayed it, and I was glad I did as the edges get quite sticky. I did add the lemon-based drizzle rather than the milk and felt it added exactly the right little extra. I will use my food processor rather than my hand mixer for the crust next time I make this -- the hand mixer just never quite seemed to get the crust perfectly crumbled for me. I will definitely be making this one again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valereee May 30, 2012

I read some of the reviews below and decided to double the fruit part of this recipe. After I did that I thought oh boy I might have too much fruit for the dough. So I did 1/3 more of the dry ingredients except the brown sugar. It turned out fabulous. I would do this recipe again. thank you for the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette S. June 29, 2014

I used frozen rhubarb and Old Fashioned Oats. I was confused by ingredient description because Quick Oats are not Old Fashioned. I should have used Quick Oats but it still turned out fine. Thought there could have been more (double?) filling and it really didn't need the extra sweetness of the drizzle although it was good. I used lemon juice w/powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN March 10, 2014

Loved these little bars! I'm a crust person, and usually like more crust than filling, but this filling is SO good that next time I'm going to make more of it, as some other reviewers have said. The combination of the twangy rhubarb and the sweet strawberries is just delicious! I also used the food processor to make the crust, and then iced the bars with a lemony cream cheese drizzle. My rhubarb-loving husband is in heaven. Great recipe! ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie August 11, 2013

AMAZING! It had everybody licking their fingers and beggin for seconds! I didn't have fresh strawberries so I used a container of frozen strawberries and it turned out just fine. I recommend doubling the filling because I found I wanted more fruit. Over all an amazing and easy recipe that I will continue to use!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
142_dance July 23, 2013

I liked the recipe and I liked the bars the first day. They become softer each day so I need to make them when I know they will be eaten all at once. I used a food processor to make the crust and it is so much easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherijmsp June 03, 2013

Yummm. My kids loved these bars. I had more fresh rhubarb than strawberries, so I adjusted the filling ingredients as follows: 3 cups rhubarb, 1/2 cup strawberries, 1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water (no lemon juice), 2 T cornstarch. I used butter to grease the pan - no sticking at all. I did not have quick oats, so I used rolled oats, which I probably prefer anyway. Thanks for the recipe, Muffin Goddess! This is going in my book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murraka69 May 21, 2013

I can't wait to try this again when I have some rhubarb! The store was out and I was set to make these bars, so I substituted blueberries, but nobody minded. I ended using 3 cups sliced strawberries and 1 cup blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan May 08, 2013

We weren't crazy about the crust on these. And there wasn't enough fruit filling for us. I think they would be better with more fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets September 14, 2012

I was told this is the best dessert I've brought to Guadalupe House! They loved it.
I'm thinking of making it for tomorrow with blueberries instead of strawberries. I bet that will work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejonesgal July 04, 2011
Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert Bars