Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      I also skipped out on the crust and added 1/4 cup oatmeal to the topping. My boyfriend said it is one the best desserts I've ever made! He made me promise to make more immediately :)
      I used palm sugar instead of sugar, as I have blood sugar sensitivities. Followed the recipe exactly outside of that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      This was very tasty, though we did find it somewhat overly sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar. I made it more as a crisp/custard dessert rather than pie. I skipped the bottom pie crust and added 1/4 cup of oatmeal to the topping. I also used frozen strawberries, so my filling was a bit runny. Use a bit more flour or some cornstarch if using frozen berries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Excellent pie!!! Delicious!!! We loved it! At first if not completely chilled it was a little loose,but firmed up later and was most yummy!!! I will definitely make this again and again and again!!! I made this for the Farm Women Cooking with Andi of Longmeadow Farm! Woo hoo Andi!! This one is a keeper! Jelly :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Wonderful yet simple! Thanks to your grandma! And you to share it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Wow!! I made this exactly as the recipe instructed and it was absolutely delicious! I had never made (or eaten) anything with rhubarb, so I decided to try it. Well, I will definitely be making this again, many times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Words can't even describe this pie! The other day was just my first time even hearing about rhubarb and I was really curious about it. Then I saw Rachel Ray use it in a savory dish and she talked about how it is often used in pies. So, I looked it up and let me tell you, I couldn't have been happier with the results. It was simple and just beyond delicious! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was really wonderful! I used what fruit I had on hand: 3/4 C rhubarb, 1 1/4 C strawberries and 1 C apple. The apple was a nice filler and definately didn't take away from the sweet strawberry and tart rhubarb. I was really impressed with the way the pie set. I do believe one comment from the crowd was "this is the best pie I've ever had" So thank you, great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      We rhubarb lovers all said - "awesome' too! What a great tasting pie - that toping makes for great presentation! Looks so good and tastes even better. Love 'grandma' recipes. Made this as posted and also made using 2 1/2 cups rhubarb and 1/2 cup strawberries (that's all the strawberries I had left on hand) and guess what - we loved that one too! Than you Leslie, another recipe to my rhubarb favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

    • on July 30, 2012

      Love it! Love it! Love it! Who knew pies could be this simple? I've always shied away from making pies because the process always seemed so daunting. No more! This is the first pie i ever made and since the first one, I've made it 7 more times given rhubarb is in season. My husband can't get enough of it. It's that good! The only modifications I've made to suit my personal taste is I've cut the sugar in half since the strawberries this season have been fairly sweet and I add 1 tsp of vanilla. Not sure if vanilla is really necessary...it's more habit than anything else. I once used frozen rhubarb and had to add an extra tablespoon of flour to the batter to combat the extra moisture. But other than that, it comes out perfect everytime! I can't wait to try other fillings in the future. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I used about 1 to 1 1/4 cup each frozen strawberries and rhubarb that I had on hand. I did not put boiling water over the rhubarb, but mixed 2 tsp tapioca with the fruit. Good, easy recipe. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Delicious! I even had to teach my roommate how to make this, he loved it so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This is an awesome recipe, only the struddle topping is too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Hubby must have eaten half the pie before I could even take a pic! This was an excellent dessert and I did go a little heavier on the strawberries. TFS Leslie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      If you love strawberries and rhubarb, you will love this recipe. It went together so easily and the taste is wonderful. My DH loved it - it is his favorite kind of pie. I will be making this one again and again! Made for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Bliss on a spoon! A slightly softer set than I anaticipated but that said, this recipe was easy to make and tasted absolutely HEAVENLY; hot and cold. Mr B declared this a 7 star recipe, and he does know he's marking out of a possible 5! Need I say more?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Wonderful..... just wonderful Sarahsmomi. Your grandmothers recipe is just simply delicious. We enjoyed this easy to make pie so much. It had a wonderful flavour and the presentation was lovely. It didn't last long around here. I will be making this again soon...Kudo's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (966 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2517.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1007
    40%
    Total Fat 111.9 g
    172%
    Saturated Fat 45.8 g
    229%
    Cholesterol 308.1 mg
    102%
    Sodium 1431.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 364.1 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 239.5 g
    958%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites