10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious sweet tart crisp. I made it with fresh cut rhubarb that went into the freezer as soon as it was washed and cut and summer strawberries that I had also frozen. It came out great. I don't own a glass pie plate so went with the lead of other reviewers and used the oven @ 350 but mine took closer to 45 mins to get a golden glow on top and get the juice's bubbling. A wonderful touch of summer in January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 02, 2013

Although I'm more for heating up or melting/softening things in the microwave, I did follow your recipe right on down, & must say that baking in that contraption was easy as crisp (or 'pie' if you want to be accurate)! Anyway, your recipe for this crisp is a real keeper! Absolutely loved everything about it, the easy of prep, the combo of flavors, everything! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 08, 2011

This is such a great recipe!!!! Loved it! :) I didnt see that it was meant to be made in the microwave, but when I saw that I thought why not try it and it worked out fabulously. The topping was soft where it touched the fruit and crispy enough on top for us.
The fruit filling was sooo yummy, loved the tart rhubarb with the sweet strawberries. YUM! I used only 1 tbs of splenda in the filling and 1 tbs of splenda brown sugar blend in the topping, which was enough sweetness for us.
I served the crisp with vanilla yogurt and everyone raved about it. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, weekend cooker!
Made and reviewed for WTTM April 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 02, 2011

We really enjoyed this crisp. The filling had the perfect proportion of sweet and tart taste. I also liked the fact that the topping did not get mushy at all, as some other crisp recipes have turned out. I have never made a baked good in the microwave, so I played it safe and cooked it in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, as other reviewers did as well. We finished the whole crisp in one sitting, it was that good. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester June 22, 2010

This is a delicious recipe! The amount of sugar called for was just right to balance the tang of the rhubarb with the sweetness of strawberries. My filling had some residual liquid the next day but tasted great nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisv June 16, 2010

Woo hoo....Was this great WC. We enjoyed this tasty treat very much. I also baked mine in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 - 30 minutes. Sooo perfect. Loved the addition of the candied ginger. It subtley flavored the sweet & tart crisp. I will be making this again and again. Loved everything about this. Thanks so much for sharing WC. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 21, 2009

This is a really good crisp. I made 1.5 x the fruit and 2 x the crisp and baked in the oven for 25 min @ 350. Very tasty indeed. I did not include the ginger. Made for 123 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 30, 2009

Although it is always best to read the recipe before preparing, I'm glad I didn't as I would have missed this delightful treat. The fruit was already in the plate and the topping mixed before I realized the cooking instructions called for a microwave. Undaunted, I popped this into the oven for 20 minutes at 350 degrees enjoyed the wonderful results. My crisp included the ginger, yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 11, 2009

Fearing the sour taste of rhubarb, I added more sugar to this, and maybe should have added less. We're not used to cooking this kind of thing in the microwave and didn't know what to expect, but it was easy, came out well and tastes great with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 08, 2009
Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp