11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It is wonderful...very light, with a great texture, and it has just a hint of sweetness. I used light cream cheese and instant oatmeal, and we think it turned out great. Even my kids liked this one.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alana.b January 25, 2003

I didn't have a problem with mine falling at all, and the recipe came out great! It's not a super sweet bread, but it tastes great with some homemade strawberry jam on top :). I didn't use a sweet bread setting, but instead I set my bread maker for one pound and light crust. It turned out great and I would definitely recommend it! Putting the bread in the fridge overnight and letting the strawberry flavor really absorb makes a huge difference too. I added a little bit more strawberry than the recipe called for, and it made a really pretty loaf of bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
preacherlaura April 23, 2011

maybe i expected too much, but it didn't taste like strawberries...or cream cheese...just...plain bread - a little dissapointing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ September 08, 2008

I loved it my bread mcahine is 1.5 loaf so next time i will double the recipe i used splenda apricot perserves instead of strawberry and used no suger honey it turned out just fine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee Ann #2 December 01, 2007

Mine fell. I went directly by the recipe, but it still failed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pyro926 March 28, 2007

This sounds much better than it is, I think. I tried it with the cream cheese and strawberry jam, then with butter and jam (which was the best tasting idea to me), and finally as a french toast. Truly, this bread left something to be desired. It's kind of bland even though the texture was nice and soft and fluffy. Mine didn't fall, but I think that is caused by the dough being too moist. I added a few extra teaspoons of flour when I saw how sticky it was, and I think that helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Julea May 08, 2004

OK, I'm not one to follow directions, so I used frozen strawberries with sugar added (drained) and put in less honey. I had to add some water to it while it was mixing. It has wonderful texture. Fresh strawberries are probably best and nxt time I won't lessen the honey because I think I'd like it sweeter, too. All in all, I'd consider it a success because my end result was more than edible! :) Thanks! Brandi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi1976 April 26, 2004

Mine fell a bit too but that's okay - the texture is still nice. Definitely not a sweet breat and not a strong strawberry flavor either. I think that we'll try it with the cream cheese/strawberry preserves that cbw mentioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 14, 2004

This was very easy to throw together and produced a tasty bread! I agree with the reviewer that said it wasn't real sweet and to let it cool for about 20 minutes before cutting. To sweeten mine, I whirled some cream cheese and homemade strawberry jam in my food processor until mixed and creamy to use as a spread. I loved it with that on top! I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks, Recipe Fairy!(=

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ March 16, 2004

This is surely not a sweet bread. I recommend letting it cool for about 20 minutes before cutting. I think it would be great for diabetics.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamurai Michaels January 05, 2004
Strawberry Oatmeal Cream Cheese Bread (Bread Machine)