14 Reviews

Loved the flavors and moist texture of the muffins. I followed the recipe mostly, but since I had no orange peel, I added an additional tsp. of vanilla and I had so many fresh strawberries that I put in closer to 2 cups of chopped berries. I also sprinkled a teaspoon of turbinado sugar on top of each muffin giving them nice crunchy tops. I was surprised that I really liked the flavor of the cinnamon and nutmeg in the muffins. Had enough batter for 18 regular size muffins. They were scrumptious warm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wwashi3 April 14, 2014

Flavour was good with only OK fresh strawberries. I made ours gluten free and must have messed up proportions though so the texture was wrong so I can't give the perfect details in making them gluten free this time. But I'm sure this is a tasty muffin! I can tell you I do always change buttermilk for yogurt, vanilla extract to halal vanilla paste & nutmeg because it has intoxicant properties to allspice with good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 30, 2011

I only had frozen strawberries, but they were still were fantastic muffins that made for a great after breakfast treat. The cinnamon and strawberries were excellent together along with the chocolate chips. Have to admit this was my first muffin with buttermilk, and it definately was worth making. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 13, 2010

I had some strawberries that needed to be used up or be thrown away soon, so this was a great recipe to tag for me. I made 1/2 of the recipe and will use them for morning muffins. I made two changes, I didn't have the orange zest and reduced the sugar by 2 tablespoons but then added 2 TBSP's of white chocolate chips. Delicious blend of flavors with the strawberries, cinnamon and chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 23, 2010

My first muffin recipe with buttermilk. We enjoyed these during the ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 24, 2010

Really good muffins! I went strawberry picking the other day, so I had LOTS of fresh strawberries to use up, so these muffins were perfect for me. Love the addition of the orange zest, too -- something different that you don't usually find in strawberry muffins. I didn't have buttermilk, so I soured some whole milk with some lemon juice instead. There was quite a bit of cinnamon sugar left over after I generously sprinkled it on the muffins, so I just said the heck with it and distributed the rest on top of the muffins. I actually really liked how cinnamony the tops were, even though all that topping looked like it would be too much. These baked up into perfectly rounded, adorable little muffins, which impressed me quite a bit -- it's not that hard to find a muffin recipe that tastes good, but it's tough to find ones that taste good AND bake up pretty, lol. I sent all but two of these to work with DH, so he had three happy guys today! I'll definitely be using this recipe again, thanks for posting! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6 Scandinavia

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 07, 2010

This is a really tasty muffin recipe. I didn't have the orange zest and I had to use skim milk because I didn't have the buttermilk. I also left off the sugar topping because I felt the batter was sweet enough. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quirkycook April 11, 2010

LOVED the blend of flavours from the vanilla, orange zest, nutmeg and cinnamon. I've made these twice, the first time exactly to the recipe, the second time with raspberries. Both were fabulous, so I'll certainly be making them again. Thanks, breezermom, for another super recipe! :) We loved them and the friends who sampled them loved them and - understandably - wanted the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder March 21, 2010

No fresh strawberries worth talking about around here right now, so I used frozen which I always have on hand for smoothies, & that worked just fine in the making of a double batch of these VERY, VERY TASTY MUFFINS! These were set out, along with a couple of other sweet treats to lure in & satisfy potential customers during a mobile-home-park-wide garage sale we had! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 25, 2009
Strawberry Muffins