64 Reviews

Delicious! A sweet, moist, fruity muffin. Yummy while hot right out of the oven! I also increased the strawberries to 2 cups. I used only 1/2 cup (one stick) of melted margarine, not butter. I decreased the baking powder to 2 teaspoons rather than 2 tablespoons - I thought that may actually be an error in the recipe (the usual ratio is 1 teaspoon baking powder to each 1 cup flour). I ended up with 15 muffins. Posting a picture as well. Thanks so much for a delicious baked goods recipe to use my fresh berries!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish May 15, 2002

I too used only 1/2 cup of butter, and they were delicious. It is peak strawberry season here in Australia, so they are very inexpensive and very tasty. Next time I am thinking about throwing in a few chocolate chips. Strawberries and chocolate,mmmmm!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie July 25, 2002

I thought the taste was great but here are my few things I figured out along the way. The baking powder seemed an ok amount. The 1/2 cup butter I used was enough. And if you fill 24 small muffin cups 3/4 full it comes out perfect. The recipe should have said 12 large muffins and 24 small. Lastly, a 20 minute baking time was sufficient for the small muffins. The suger on top was a nice touch.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2redheads #2 April 07, 2009

The recipe I think is incorrect looking at others and making it. It should be 2 tsp not tablespoons. I added more strawberries and cinnamon. Yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wiseman98_9095634 November 14, 2012

After all the good reviews, I had high hopes for these but they were kind of mushy and nobody would eat them after the first taste. Sorry but these just weren't a hit at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious April 07, 2010

After reading the reviews I upped the sugar to somewhere between 1/3 and 2/3 cup. These are so incredibly delicious. I'm refraining from eating them all before my husband gets home! I didn't dice the strawberries but cut them into smallish pieces, I would probably recommend dicing them just so the juice is more spread out. I will definitely be making these again. I can't wait for pick your own season now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara.a.shepherd@gmail.com April 02, 2010

It's a fabulous recipe! I'm not a fan of muffins but I love how easy and awesome the muffins are! I modified the recipe a lil and used 2 cups of chopped strawberries with 1/2 cup of melted salted butter as mentioned by some in the reviews. To enhance the taste, I also added extra vanilla essence and some chopped white chocolate! the white chocolate's awesomeee!! Would definitely do this again (:

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baosie May 01, 2009

I got 16 regular size muffins from the batch. They are very tender and fluffy light. Moist with the fresh fruit used two cups. I will tell you though that the two grand kids will not try them because of the wet pinkish fruit in them, who would have thought. I did put a streusel on top with cinnamon and sugar, but they didn't need that at all. Thanks for the recipe, I will make them again for myself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy March 01, 2008

I signed up to review this recipe, because it turned out great! I used 1/2 cup of butter and did not add the 6 tablespoons of sugar and got 24 small muffins. Yum! Will definitely bake again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlecreamsoda April 07, 2013

Soggy, flat muffins. Made 20 not 12, even used 1/2 cup of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
summergal126 March 24, 2013
Strawberry Muffins