150 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this recipe with strawberries I had frozen along with a cup of vanilla ice cream and a cup of small ice cubes in place of the water. It turned out cold and thick and was delicious! My teenagers loved it. Next time I'll make it using "Nutrasweet" in place of some of the sugar for myself.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katnip July 23, 2002

This recipe didn't pack enough strawberry flavor for me, so I doubled the number of strawberries and it was perfect!

I also used crushed ice instead of water, because I like the slushy texture. I also cut the sugar in half.

Good recipe, thank you!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose April 22, 2011

My husband and I thought this was very good. We're going to surprise our teenagers with it. I will keep this recipe close at hand for the kids during spring and summer family gatherings, and also for when the strawberries I have on hand are just on the brink and I need to do something with them quick. My husband remarked how creamy this tasted. I used nonfat milk!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP May 27, 2002

Absolutely delicious! I didn't have superfine or powdered sugar, so I pre-measured regular (crystal) sugar and then whirred it in the blender until it was a fine powder/dust. It made a HUGE difference, as does the vanilla. It's utterly uncanny how this recipe can take wholesome frozen strawberries and a few other pure ingredients and make them taste utterly processed and artificial. If I want a healthy smoothie, I'll make one, but this is the closest I've ever gotten to the mall Julius drinks after an almost-30-year quest. Thank you!!! (edited to add, made tonight with almond milk - still awesome!!!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer November 24, 2010

Heather this was good, but I much prefered this made with frozen sweetened strawberries. The frozen berries thicken up the strawberry julius just a bit. The last time I made this using frozen sweetened strawberries, was about 2 years ago, but I forgot to rate this recipe, and post my review. I had also added a bit more sugar, since I found my frozen berries weren't sweet enough. This was very good, and I'd like to thank you Heather for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess June 22, 2010

I'm ashamed I haven't left a review sooner because we have been devoted fans of this recipe for a long time. My oldest son makes this for us, the only change being we use frozen strawberries. It's absolutely wonderful and refreshing -very close to the Strawberry Julius at the mall -but even cheaper and tastier! Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Minnesota March 20, 2004

Super recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and since my processor handles ice, I opted for the 1/2 cup ice instead of water. It really does taste like a mall julius.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day March 26, 2003

OMG, just tried this recipe yesterday as an after-school drink....YUMMY is all i can say! I also used frozen strawberries, added a banana (strawberry and banana drinks are my all time fav.) and used 1/2 cup water and added 3 large ice cubes, came out perfect!! I WILL be making this again (and again....and again....)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina January 10, 2003

Very good. My strawberry loving kids loved it. I have two kids who don't like strawberries so they didn't try it. I used fresh strawberries and I used ice instead of water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids August 18, 2010

Made this today for my kids and their friend and they LOVED it! Did substitute powdered sugar for regular sugar as others recommended. Also, added some ice to thicken up a bit since I had fresh strawberries, not frozen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheMcMahons July 08, 2010
Strawberry Julius