Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Jello Pretzel Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Jello Pretzel Salad

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2013

      This is one of DD's favorite salads. However I have never tried it with pineapple. We loved it. The only problem I had was it didn't set up, I'm thinking I didn't get the pineapple drained good enough. Going to try again in a couple weeks. We still ate it (in bowls) and loved the flavor. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Yum! I like this dessert with the exception of the jell-o. The first time I ever had this, the jell-o was omitted and I've perferred it that way ever since. I like to use fresh strawberries mixed with a little sugar and spread it on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This tasted just like my mother's and was just what I was looking for. I did make a few changes due to not paying attention and missing ingredients. I forgot the sugar in the pretzel crust and had only salted pretzels. I used about 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream which I whipped and folded into the cream cheese as I didn't have CoolWhip. Fresh strawberries were also used. This was yummy and liked by everyone except Simi who refused to even try it because it has Jello in it. The rest of the family agreed it was her loss and just meant all the more for us.(21)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Am I the only person who came up short on the crust using 2 cups crushed pretzels? I ended up using a whole bag. I also cut the butter back to 1/2 cup but ended up doubling the pretzels, so used 1 cup total. The cream cheese plus whipped cream almost seemed like marshmallow fluff, that might be an interesing substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Loved, loved, LOVED this recipe! I have made it twice now this week for Easter. I also used salted pretzels. I used fat free cream cheese the first time and it turned out fantastic as well. I only used fresh strawberries and no pineapple and added to the jello right after it began to set. DH was crazy about the recipe and ate several huge servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Wow! This is soooooo yummy! I made it for a church potluck with my girls. We made our own whipped cream with heavy cream and vanilla extract. We also used 1/2 cup of sugar, instead of one cup. And we added the pineapple after the jello was partially gelled. Oh yeah, salty pretzels, too! Not sure how much I was supposed to crush the pretzels. Should I have crushed them down to very fine pieces? Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This is pefect WITH SALTED prezels! I agree with everyone else, they must be salted. I used low fat pretzels and 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and lite cool whip and it still tasted fantastic! I had many people ask me for the recipe at Thanksgiving dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I think that this is one of my favorite dishes!!! Its been at every Thanksgiving I can remember. The pretzels have to be salted though, otherwise you don't get that salty sweet combination. It really makes this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I have been making this recipe for years and my family requests it often. The pretzels have to be salty in my opinion! Barbara Walters would have liked this recipe much more with salted pretzels. I don't use pineapple in mine. Also, its not necessary to thaw the strawberries completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This is a family favorite. I recommend using salty pretzels, it gives a great sweet/salty contrast. Also, the packages of JellO specifically state NOT to add pineapple or the JellO will not set. I add the pineapple to the creamcheese mixture or omit it completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Recipe was awesome, but instead of unsalted pretzels I used salted which gave it an awesome blend of sweet and salty. Also, if you don't thaw the strawberries, the jello sets in about 15 minutes so the prep and cook time is shortened quite a bit. Great recipe though!!! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Loved this, I used lowfat cream cheese and fat free coolwhip and only 1/2 cup of sugar to make a little lighter. My husband loved it also, he didn't even know I used all the light stuff. Also, I topped off with a layer of FF Coolwhip and a couple of crushed pretzels on top for a nice decoration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      My 6 year old daughter made this for Thanks Giving. It was a huge hit! And instead of putting it in a casserole or cake pan, we stuck it in a round clear glass dish, and it was really pretty looking. I was scared to put my clear glass pan in the oven, so I put foil in my dish, and mashed down the pretzels, and pulled it back out and put the foil and pretzels in the oven for 7 minutes. And then pulled it out of the foil and pushed it back into the clear dish. Everyone couldn't beleive that my little girl did such a great deseart, and she was glowing all night. :) Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I made this recipe after a friend told me it was her family favorite during the holidays. I left out the pineapple, and I used 2 cups real whipped cream instead of coolwhip. I also use salted pretzels because I like the sweet/salty flavors together. Is it a salad or is it a dessert? One of the seven wonders of the universe...Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      My daughter learned to make this in home economics class. I leave out the pineapple because I just don't care for pineapple and I use salted pretzels. It goes very, very quickly at my house. It's a great combination of salty and sweet. LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      A family fave! This never appealed to my hubby until he tried it, and now he craves it and requests often. Would eat the whole thing himself if I allowed it! It's a GREAT dessert to take to picnics, parties, work events, etc. People really do love this stuff. A few suggestions of my own though: the pineapple is unnecessary! I prefer it all strawberry. Also - SALTED pretzels are kinda what makes it, at least for us. The salty / sweet thing is the best part about it, I think. And last of all, try the Extra Creamy Cool Whip, the extra-thick stuff -- in the red container, I believe. It's denser and therefore, holds up to the jello & berries better. Keeps the juices from seeping down into the pretzels (which if happens, doesn't affect the taste ... just makes for a prettier presentation!) I think the creamier Cool Whip DOES taste better, too! Give this one a try, guys! You won't regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I used Splenda, sugar free jello, sugar free cool whip, and low-fat cream cheese. I also substituted frozen peaches and blueberries. It was really good, no body suspected it was a low-carb dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      My grandmother has been making this for years, I loved it growing up and it was always a favorite at family gatherings. I agree with Patti C, the salted pretzels are I think, what makes this dessert really yummy; a perfect blend of sweet and salty! I think Barbara Walters' opinion was a little off--It's better than "good" it's FAN-TAB-U-LOUS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I love this dessert! I have taken it to many parties and picnics and it's always all gone by the time the party is over. A real crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      I made this as dessert yesterday for family and it met rave reviews. Everyone kept saying...those are really pretzels on the bottom and it's really good!!! I will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Jello Pretzel Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.1
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    53%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 235.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 41.8 g
    167%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    unsalted pretzels

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites