11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good jam. I admit that I didn't use your measurements (I just had a few berries), but I based my recipe off of them. So thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thistleberry June 03, 2011

very good jam, I used strawberries an blackberries that I needed to use before they went bad so good. I halfed the sugar, personal preference and it was delightful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingLaura January 17, 2009

I had a bag of frozen strawberries that needed using up. Because there is no weight description in the recipe, I had to play by ear. After chopping them up, I got 300gms and used about 60gms of sugar and no lemon juice as I thought it was sour as it was. It turned about pretty okay. I will try it again and post a revised review then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption July 14, 2007

I made this the other day as I had some strawberries that needed uses. It is super, and gave a bit to my neighbor, now she is making it and going to try mixed berry. Thanks Josh ! birdnest

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdsnest May 08, 2007

wow- well this jam doesn't have to be 'out of the ordinary' to get 5 stars in my book- it's great, it was easy and that's that. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. I used 2 lbs. it is a little runny... but it's still fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan Krape November 13, 2006

It was okay. Not out of the ordinary. This recipe had so many good reviews, I thought I would try it. Sadly I think I wasted perfectly good strawberries. My sugar fiend eight year old even thought it was too sweet and a little ordinary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaccaria October 24, 2005

Great recipe! It was so easy to do! I changed it a bit according to the ingredients that I had on hand. I added a bag of frozen mixed field berries and changed the lemon juice to orange juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy in Montreal September 18, 2005

Great recipe! As others have mentioned I especially like the texture, the ease of preparation and the taste is devine. I use fresh strawberries, then seal the jars for the jelly cupboard. I usually get a little over 2 pints from this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita P September 06, 2005

Wow this was good. Made this for the swap! Used fresh strawberries and served over multigrain toast and crumpets. Really, REALLY good. Better than any jam you could buy at the store. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BirdyBaker May 30, 2005

This recipe tastes much more like fresh strawberries than any strawberry jam I have had in the past. I agree with triscuitnut about the consistency - it's just right. I was surprised that no pectin was needed, but it set fine without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannah Miller April 08, 2005
Strawberry Jam