Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      Excellent! Made two recipes to take to friends using fresh picked strawberries. Loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was an absolutely awesome recipe! I can't write enough about the yummy custard-like background of the desert. It was very, very nice! The recipe completely filled my Cuisinart. I think next time I will chop the strawberries a little smaller. My husband complained of the ice cream being too chunky, but that didn't keep him from getting a second helping of the dessert! If you pick this recipe, you won't regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This recipe is great! I mixed the strawberries, lemon, and sugar and mashed it up a bit before chilling it. I didn't pulverize it, I just mashed it enough that there was plenty of red liquid to color the ice cream pink. Because I use a kitchenaid attachment, I didn't add the strawberry mixture to the rest until the cream mixture had already been in the ice cream maker for 10 minutes. Right now the ice cream is freezing and ripening in the freezer. The taste right out of the ice cream maker is yummy, but perhaps just a touch too sweet for my palate. For most people it's probably perfect, but next time I'll add just slightly less sugar. I am very satisfied with this recipe. if you're looking for a basic, delicious, strawberry ice cream, I suggest you try this one out. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This is the best recipe for strawberry ice cream. My husband love the pieces of strawberry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I pureed the strawberries. I also scalded the cream and eggs, which I am shocked that the cooking of the eggs is not a part of the recipe. Next time I make the recipe, I will likely also leave out the egg whites. Use caution to not put in more strawberries than the recipe calls for. They will cause the entire mixture to get VERY hard and make it difficult to serve after being frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      we loved the taste of the ice cream, but i didn't like the frozen chunks of strawberries. I will definitely make this again but i will puree the strawberrie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Amazing! Before I made this recipe I didn't even like stawberry ice cream. I guess the problem was I had never tasted this. I added some lemon zest and a pkg of frozen strawberries to the pint of fresh, which I cut up very small. Best ice cream ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Excellent—I tried 5 recipes from recipezaar & this was everybody's favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Wonderful flavor! I pureed the strawberries before mixing them with the lemon juice, which resulted in a smooth texture and pretty pink color. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I used 2 cups of sliced strawberries which was a little too much since my ice cream maker overflowed ... wasn't too bad because the spill was easy to lick up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      After reading the reviews, looks like I am not the only one who either has reading issues or ingredient challenges. I tried to follow the directions, I swear. Here's what I did: I forgot to put the lemon juice in with the strawberries until probably the last 10 minutes of the steep time. Oh well. I did not have heavy cream, and only about 1 1/2 cups of fat free half and half. I supplemented the rest with canned evaporated milk. (The only other thing I had was skim milk, so figured the canned milk would be richer.) I don't like chunks for frozen strawberries, so I gave them a couple of pulses in the food processor. Not puree, but not chunks. Aside from these deviations, I am proud to say I followed the instructions exactly. LOL. This ice cream was wonderful. It was sweet, but not too sweet. It set up well, and in spite of my lack of fatty milk, was surprisingly creamy. I did add one drop of red food color. It came out a faint pink and looked pretty. I served this at a 4th of July family gathering, and served it with a lime ice cream Fresh Lime Ice Cream which was really good with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      My family loved this icecream. It was flavorful but light. Delicious. Next, time to enhance the flavor I may add a little pureed stawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      I wish I could give this recipe atleast 6 stars!! This was really good and tasted just like Ben n Jerrys!! I substituted unsweetened frozen strawberries for the fresh and it worked like a charm!! I will be making this icecream often! Thank you so much for posting this recipe PCrocker!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      I made this ice cream over the weekend, and was very happy with the results. The strawberry flavor is not saturated; it's actually quite light and compliments the chopped strawberries well. I served this at a BBQ, and was told that this was professional quality ice cream. Will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      THIS is what strawberry ice cream is supposed to taste like, not that pink supermarket stuff! Even though I was forced to make a major adjustment due to an unexpected shortfall of an important ingredient, this ice cream ranks among the best I've tasted, homemade or storebought! I did have farm-fresh strawberries, of course, which undoubtedly helped and which I highly recommend if you can obtain them. In Step 1, I refrigerated overnight, not one hour (I recommend chopping the strawberries up quite small, btw); this appeared not to harm the berries at all. Step 5 was where my problem started: into my two-cup measure I poured the whipping cream, only to have the carton empty at just 3/4 cup. Uh-oh. Look in fridge for light cream and find none. Get out whole milk and reluctantly start adding that. Have the carton empty at the 1 2/3 cup line. VERY reluctantly use 1% milk to top off to get to the 2 cups. After combining, I chilled this mixture for about an hour in the fridge, then I let my Cuisinart ice cream maker churn for 30 minutes, and the resulting ice cream, while a pretty colour, was still very, very thin and soft. Worry. But after just a few hours of time in the freezer, the end result has turned out be an ice cream that's not too rich or heavy, with a luscious strawberry flavour. A winner I would definitely serve to company. Thank you so much for posting this recipe; I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      This is a delicious standard for strawberry ice cream! I don't care for hard chunks of frozen strawberry in my ice cream, so I pureed the strawberries before mixing (I had about 3/4 cup in a liquid measure, I think). I removed about a half cup of final custard to make it the right amount for my 1 quart ice cream maker; I could probably scale the ingredients down slightly next time. I also chilled the final custard for a couple of hours before freezing. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.1
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    61%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 176.3 mg
    58%
    Sodium 74.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 36.4 g
    145%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites