41 Reviews

This was very good. Next time I will puree the strawberries. I used a cuisinart ice cream/ sorbet maker and this recipe made about a 1 1/2 cups to much to fit in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmdandgle May 17, 2010

Got this from my B&J's book. But I find that ALL the B&J's recipes melt rapidly, So I always make my own changes to it.Used 1 1/2 cups low fat milk, 3/4 cup whipping cream and 3/4 cup extra light cream. Also used 4 egg yolks instead of 2 eggs. I was wondering why it didnt turn out lovely and bright pink, and resisted adding red food colouring. It has a nice subtle berry taste and I also pureed all the strawberries thoroughly

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi June 22, 2006

This is what homemade ice cream should taste like! Full of wonderful strawberry flavor and rich and deliciously creamy : ) This is a very simple recipe to follow and provides some very tasty results : ) I followed the instructions to the letter. I know with strawberry season almost in full swing, I will be making this recipe a lot! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, PCrocker!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 30, 2006

Best ice cream recipe and so easy, no cooking. I also pureed the strawberries slightly in my vitamix. I have a kitchenaid ice cream maker and it worked the best I have ever done. The ice cream froze really well and was a perfect texture. Will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midge123 July 13, 2015

Delicious and easy to make. You can substitute almost anything for the strawberries, or leave out the fruit and have a great-tasting vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonj430 June 22, 2015

Very delicious, I would agree with another review, makes lots extra if you have a different machine, I used Cusinart. Also, strawberries were too frozen in icecream, so made for hard parts. I suggest allowing to macerate overnight, then blending most strawberries in blender, reserving some for folding in at end. Tastes even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keldon H. May 16, 2015

Absolutely the BEST recipe! So easy and DELISH!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen C. May 07, 2015

For reference, since I couldn't see it anywhere, this recipe makes one quart (half gallon). I doubled it after the first time because I have a one gallon Rival machine and I knew half a gallon wouldn't make it very far! This ice cream was outstanding. My wife says it's the best ice cream she's ever had, hands down. Like many others, I pureed the strawberries somewhat before adding them because I wanted less big chunks and a pink color. Also, I have now tried it without refrigerating the strawberries for an hour and instead just refrigerated the whole mixture together to make sure everything was chilled to the max, and that process worked great as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoprincipio March 29, 2015

Made this using strawberries from my garden, what a creamy, cool summer delight. I too had trouble with the strawberry chunks too but managed to work through it. Next time I'll make sure they are much smaller bits. The amount ended up being to much for my machine but I just saved it for the 2nd flavor I was making. So good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 06, 2014

reduced the sugar by half and cooked the eggs. Alas it overflowed out of my machine. Otherwise great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Uy December 05, 2013
Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's