Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2010

      Delicious straight out of the freezer as soft-serve. I'd add a word of caution though, this recipe is for a 2-quart freezer, not the more common 1.5-quart size. This just meant that I had to eat a few extra strawberries drenched in sweet cream and vanilla. It was tough, but I made it through. My Cuisinart ice cream freezer didn't deal weal with the chunks, so I hit it with a hand blender until the strawberry goodness turned the entire mix a delicious pink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I was uncomfortable with the raw eggs in this recipe, as I was going to be serving it at my 2 year old's birthday party. I followed the recipe, but after beating the eggs, sugar and adding the milk, I heated the mixture to boiling over low heat. I then added the vanilla, and cooled the mixture in the refrigerator. After cooling, I added the strawberries and cream, then placed in my ice cream maker. The texture and flavor were great, even after freezing overnight. This tastes like Bryer's strawberry ice cream. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This ice cream is amazing! I always make sure to puree the strawberries because once you put the finished ice cream into the freezer then the strawberries turn into ice chunks if left too big. I mix in crumbled up home made graham cracker crust into this and it's awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      I made a double batch. Oops. Well, I say oops not because I regretted for even a second having more of this dreamy iced treat around but only because it didn't fit in my machine. I had to make it in 2 batches. I made this exactly as written except that I used frozen whole berrieis (1 lb for the total recipe) and skim milk for the milk part. Instead of cutting up the berries I put the whole berries with the sugar and lemon in the fridge overnight and then mashed them with a masher before putting them into the mix. I won't change a thing next time I make this....and I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      This was a little disappointing! I followed the instructions perfectly, had great sweet strawberries and it was still a little tasteless. There was a little too much (1cup) of matter for my cuisinart ice cream maker so I am glad that I scooped some out or I would have had a huge mess.<br/>The strawberries really froze up, it was very creamy but the taste was bland. I won't use this again for strawberry icecream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Awesome!!! Best recipe I have found. Even tried the Martha Stewart recipe and this one is better by a landslide.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This recipe was fantastic and very easy! The entire family loved it. I made a few changes with a great result. First I used Splenda instead of sugar and frozen strawberries as they are out of season right now. I mixed the milk, sugar and eggs and cooked to just about boiled (160 degrees) and set in the fridge to cool. Then I mixed all ingredients as directed. I made a double batch to get 4 qts. I can't wait to make it again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Got this from my B&J's book. But I find that ALL the B&J's recipes melt rapidly, So I always make my own changes to it.Used 1 1/2 cups low fat milk, 3/4 cup whipping cream and 3/4 cup extra light cream. Also used 4 egg yolks instead of 2 eggs. I was wondering why it didnt turn out lovely and bright pink, and resisted adding red food colouring. It has a nice subtle berry taste and I also pureed all the strawberries thoroughly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      This is what homemade ice cream should taste like! Full of wonderful strawberry flavor and rich and deliciously creamy : ) This is a very simple recipe to follow and provides some very tasty results : ) I followed the instructions to the letter. I know with strawberry season almost in full swing, I will be making this recipe a lot! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, PCrocker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Made this using strawberries from my garden, what a creamy, cool summer delight. I too had trouble with the strawberry chunks too but managed to work through it. Next time I'll make sure they are much smaller bits. The amount ended up being to much for my machine but I just saved it for the 2nd flavor I was making. So good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      reduced the sugar by half and cooked the eggs. Alas it overflowed out of my machine. Otherwise great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I have a tabletop ice cream machine. I have recipe books. Most importantly I have THIS recipe. Everyone loves this and it's easy to adapt using other fruits. Like others have stated, leaving chunks of strawberries means you get strawberry ice blocks so I give the strawberries a quick swirl in the blender first, a light puree. I also substitute the lemon for Cointreau or Gran Marnier. If you only make one ice cream recipe, this is the one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      Absolutely, the BEST Strawberry Ice Cream, ever!! The only thing I did differently was, instead of using 2 cups of whipping cream, I used 1 cup of half and half, and 1 cup of whipping cream. The texture was very light and fluffy! Just perfect for me! Thank you for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I used this recipe for my very first foray into ice cream making. It was DELICIOUS. I originally used whole frozen strawberries... I won't be doing that again! For the second batch I used double the strawberries, chopping some and pureeing others, which resulted in the familiar pink-tinged strawberry-flavor-rich ice cream of my kidhood. Thanks so much for the recipe! It's now a summer standby. I can't wait 'til strawberry season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I halved this recipe and made it in a 1.5 quart cuisinart ice cream maker. This was my ice cream maker's last chance to redeem itself after several failures. I must say it worked. The texture was great and the was as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      i make htis recipice and the strwberry flavor was really good i blend the whipped cream and half and half together in a blender with strawberry and put everything in the ice cream maker the ice cream was really pink and in the end i added small piece of fresh strwberry it was out of my expectation i love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      soooooooo good!! i doubled the recipe and used a cuisinart ice cream maker. it took three bowls but the ice cream is DELICIOUS! thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This was very good. Next time I will puree the strawberries. I used a cuisinart ice cream/ sorbet maker and this recipe made about a 1 1/2 cups to much to fit in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Yummy! I pureed the strawberrys but this was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Ice Cream Like Ben and Jerry's

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.1
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    61%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 176.3 mg
    58%
    Sodium 74.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 36.4 g
    145%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites