19 Reviews

Very nice! Easy to make, too. It will be great for the hot, summer days. Thanks for sharing :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirelaz May 19, 2010

Made for our family gathering this July 4th and it was a dessert hit with everyone. Thank-you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate57 July 07, 2009

Delicious! Everybody loved this dessert. Nobody expected the angel food cake on the bottom. Very easy to make. Definately going on our favorites list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Fairy July 09, 2007

Awesome! This is one of the best deserts I've ever had. Only thing I will probably do different next time is use a smaller angel food cake, and make more of the berry/glaze layer. This desert was fantastic though, thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kPaul June 07, 2007

Wow, this is absolutely wonderful!!! We had 9 people together at my mother's home for dinner today, and this dessert was a smashing success. I used sugar free Jello, Splenda, lite cream cheese and Cool Whip and it was still good. I don't think anyone could even tell that it was a pared down recipe. I also used more strawberries than the recipe called for. My dh and I had to try it last night before I even had put it in the refrigerator. It was good then but of course even better after being chilled for several hours. DH really tried to get me to give him more before we went to my mother's just to make sure it was ok for the others, but I held my ground, and made him wait for dinner. I just edited my review which I posted on Sunday because I realized that I put the Jello layer in the middle instead of on the top, which made it pretty with the white, red, white colors. I put some sliced straberries on top of the Cool Whip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in California May 17, 2006

I am not sure if I should just comment on the recipe, or rate it also because I made quite a few changes to the recipe. Instead of tossing the angel cake with cool whip, I used Chocolate Whipped Cream Chocolate Whipped Cream II. I added some melted chocolate to the strawberry mixture for a chocolate/strawberry flavor. Also, I used double the amount of strawberries. Thanks for a great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's November 15, 2005

Maybe I did something wrong with this recipe and I did follow the recipe exactly. Neither my DH or I really liked this. I didn't much like the texture of the strawberry mixture and DH was just generally ambivalent about it. It was a whole lot of fun to make though so that alone rates the 3 stars. I threw all but 2 servings out. Sorry but I won't be doing this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst August 04, 2005

This was so delicious! My 9 yr. old daughter did everything but the stovetop cooking, she had such fun and did such a great job. My family raved and it was gone within 24hrs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uncnurse July 06, 2005

This was really good... I can't wait to make this again for a party to see everyone's reaction!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum June 29, 2005
Strawberry Heaven