18 Reviews

I made this for DH and I for our Valentine breakfast today, and we practically swallowed our forks shoveling it in! What a great new addition to my breakfast ideas. We will enjoy these again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 February 14, 2009

MMMMMMM....this is soooo good! Pulling into the driveway from the grocery store, I realized I'd forgotten to buy the strawberry cream cheese, so I made my own by beating some strawberry freezer jam into about 4 ounces of softened 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I didn't really measure the jam, but just kept adding more until it looked 'berry-licious'! With the extra strawberry flavor from the jam, I didn't think this needed more berries inside, plus my frozen strawberries just didn't look good enough to use for this after thawing, so I just used the cream cheese filling. I always add cinnamon and nutmeg to my eggs for french toast, and it worked well for this recipe as well. I had some raisin bread, which worked very well for this recipe. I meant to top this with some toasted sliced almonds left from another recipe, but I forgot! It was very good with maple syrup, and the kids loved it! Made for kid friendly tag. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra September 28, 2008

I made this not for breakfast but for a late night dessert snack 6 guests ~ Each had a well-stuffed half a 'sandwich' along with a scoop of frozen vanilla yogurt, all topped with a great homemade strawberry sauce & a very small drizzle of homemade fudge sauce! OUTSTANDING & a definite keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in the current Pick-A-Chef]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 24, 2008

Ok - made this this morning. I used skim milk, left the crust on, and only used a thin spread of the strawberry cream cheese to lower fat slightly. It still came out really good! Unfortunately, me and my son were the only ones who liked it. My hubby and daughter weren't fond of the strawberries with syrup over it. But still a great recipe debee! Thanks! Also - I noticed an error in step 1 - I think it should be 'Beat eggs and milk', instead of beat eggs and sugar. I submitted a correction.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeIIa August 03, 2008

I thought about making this, but when I looked at the nutrition facts, I was scared off! Maybe you can edit this recipe to make it a bit healthier. Looks good, though. Please! I really want to try this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynemiller July 16, 2008

MMM! mmm! MMM! This will get a repeat performance at our house. DH raved and he is not a fruit-for-breakfast guy. I used regular cream cheese in lieu of the strawberry-flavored and finished off our fresh strawberries. I also didn't take the crusts off of the bread. Thanks for a keeper! Reviewed for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k July 11, 2008

Awesome! I used blueberries. I also added a blob of cool whip on top - which was a bad idea, since it melted and looked gross after a minute. For ZWT4 Zingo Flying Duchess'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel July 09, 2008

Ummmmmmmm, what a lovely Sunday brunch treat. Had lots of strawberries so made my own spread. Didn't need the maple syrup, even though it was on the table. The powdered sugar was enough! Will have these again, as I am freezing strawberries now. Thnx for posting, debee. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 07, 2008

This was a nice change to ordinary french toast. Easy & very tasty... The possibilities are endless as to the fruit you could use. Thanks debee for a great recipe. Made for Zingo ZWT 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh July 06, 2008

What a lovely and special breakfast this morning! We really enjoyed this recipe. I did make my own strawberry cream cheese with jam and whipped cream cheese and left the powdered sugar off. ZWT4 Zingo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc July 05, 2008
Strawberry French Toast