35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent flavor (just sweet enough to let you know its there). Once cooled filling spreads evenly, Very easy to make, a PERFECT filling for your layer cake it was a tremendous hit!!!! Many thanks to you for posting. THANKS, Steve

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spyac December 10, 2001

5 stars!! Perfect filling! I posted a picture of a chocolate cake I made with it! Yummy!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
confections November 03, 2010

Love it!!! tastes good on top of cheesecake cupcakes!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elleinaddanielle April 12, 2012

This recipe as written had great consistency, and I am sure if your strawberries are sweet it tastes great too. My strawberries were frozen from my garden and were quite tart...even adding extra sugar didn't help, so after making the original recipe I ended up adding a package of strawberry jello mixed with 1/4 cup of boiling water and a splash of corn syrup and that fixed the taste and added a little extra firmness from the jello. It was perfect with "White wedding cake" I made it with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen January 08, 2010

Excellent - fast, easy, and absolutely delicious! I added it to whipped cream and just lightly combined for an amazing filling for a chocolate cake. Would be really yummy poured over ice cream too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breton girl November 18, 2011

I used this as a filling with a white chocolate cake. It's perfect. Delicious! It's not too sweet but it's got terrific strawberry flavor. I think the simplicity is what makes it great. It's thickens nicely but doesn't get to gelatinous. It came out great! If I could, I'd give it 10 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjessicajohnshayes June 10, 2011

This is the first time I have ever made a fruit filling from scratch. I LOVED it!!! It was sooo yummy!!! This recipe is proof that with just a few simple ingredients, you can create something absolutely delicious :~)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcasey84 February 12, 2011

I love this recipe and have used it many times. You can also use this basic recipe with other fruits like raspberries and pineapple!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter October 24, 2010

I made this for my daughter's vanilla birthday cake, it was delicious, perfect consistancy. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alannacarla June 25, 2010

This was amazing!!! It tasted soo good and the consistency was great!!! It was the perfect choice to fill my cake. Thank you soo much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apasionada1008 June 07, 2010
strawberry filling