23 Reviews

My mom was coming to visit and I wanted my DW to make something special, so this is what she chose. It was loved by all three of us, and I can't wait to have it again! Thanks! Tony

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 April 11, 2011

What a beautiful presentation...and it tasted devine. I used walnuts in the crust....didn't toast them and didn't even notice the instruction to toast them until this review...oh well, next time I will. I also added blueberries with the strawberries and it looked and tasted wonderful. I think my favorite part is that this dessert is not too sweet because I am not a big sweet eater and make desserts mainly for my family to enjoy. This is one I enjoyed immensely! Thank you NcMystery, for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy February 07, 2010

Made this with raw almonds and in little individual tortes... I mean I couldn't stop eating the crust dough as I was pressing it into the pan or TRYING to keep "accidentally" getting the filling on my fingers! SO delicious and everyone just loved it! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessEntrekin May 18, 2009

After seeing the beautiful pictures of this dessert I knew I had to make it! I used pecans to make the crust and had no problems with it crumbling or falling apart. I let it sit in the fridge for awhile after cooling and baking before I put the filling in, so I think that helped. I decorated the top with blueberries and strawberries for a berry delicious dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 June 21, 2008

This dessert was a big hit with company. I used almonds in my crust because it was what I had on hand and it turned out great. I also used a mix of strawberries and raspberries. I did have a little trouble with it falling apart though, the crust put up a fight getting off the bottom of the pan, maybe next time I will try it with parchment paper. Definitely worth it though. So creamy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Korkin' May 21, 2008

SUPER delicious and it deserves more then 5* , it was easy to make & the filling was so YUMMM!!! I folded the strawberries in the filling & then decorated with some more & it was AWESOME! I also suggest that if your crust mixture is getting little runny then stick it in the freezer for some time & that helps. Also We live in Tropical area so once I broight the dessert out it started to melt in a little while so next time I will stick it in the freezer for some time before serving. a total keeper. TY

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefromheart November 04, 2007

This is the first recipe I am reviewing although I've been enjoying zaar recipes for several years. I made the torte using walnuts as that is what I had. I also used fresh local strawberries. The crust was delicious and the filling was similar to a cheesecake, but more creamy than that tangy taste that cheesecake has. For what it's worth, I used a 10" spring pan and cooked the crust for about 40 minutes - no pan size is given in the recipe. The torte was delicious - my family all loved it. They have all requested this be my "dish" that I bring to get-togethers. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BAM2780 July 07, 2007

I really shouldn't be reviewing this recipe as I guess I really REALLY messed up the crust somehow. After combining in the food processor my stuff looked like batter rather than crumbs. I forged ahead anyway. I was trying to double it and use a larger pan. The crust turned out so thick I am not sure what to tell you it looked like! Didn't taste too bad however. Filling was good, used fresh strawberries. Anyway, just more of a note to myself than anything else. NcMysteryShopper I have used many of your recipes so I still hold the faith! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey June 29, 2007

Very flavorful! We used walnuts in the crust which DH really liked. DD really liked the creamy filling. I put the strawberries right into the filling, rather than on top. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Cee Jay June 22, 2007

This was wonderful dessert, not too sweet but refreshing!! I really like the pecan crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 11, 2007
Strawberry Cream Torte