11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I doubled this recipe for a 13 x 18 inch cake, and it turned out great. Very easy and tasted yummy - just like creamy fresh strawberries. Not too sweet, which was perfect. And it set beautifully - really stood up to the weight of the top layer of cake. I piped a border of icing around the perimeter of the bottom layer, spread the filling on, set the top layer down, and filled in the rest of the gap between the icing border and the top cake layer with icing, forming a complete wall of icing. I had no problems with the filling smooshing out. Thank you so much for the recipe!!:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA28 June 19, 2005

This filling was just what I was looking for. My daughter and I made a 9" round cake and divided each of the 2 roud cakes so that we had 4 layers. We put the strwaberry filling between each of the layers and still had a bit for her to munch on! :-) It was super fresh and gave our cake such a delicious flavor. We will use this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srasor July 22, 2012

I just made this for a triple layer vanilla cake for a wedding shower at my father in law's workplace. It is already to die for! I think I'll make this or substitute blueberries for our reveal party (sex of our baby) I am planning in September. I bet blueberries, peaches or banana would be other great fruits to substitute. I can't wait to hear the reviews I get on this cake. This is so worth making verses that pre made stuff you can get at a bake shop. I can't wait to post a pic of this and the cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieAlfree July 21, 2012

This was so good. It set almost too good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianneee June 25, 2011

I use this on almost all my cakes. I Have tried it with fresh strawberries and frozen. I always use fresh now. A couple of times I have used frozen I have had trouble getting it to set. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina W. November 03, 2010

Delicious! Made a few changes- used thawed frozen strawberries, crushed in blender; and used strawberry gelatin because I couldn't find unflavored in our small town; And added about a cup of whipping cream! Turned out wonderfully creamy. Put inside a yellow cake. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly's Kravings February 08, 2010

I used this filling for a hollowed out Angel Food cake to make for my sister's birthday. It was the perfect filling and really made the cake. This was an excellent choice and I look forward to experimenting with this in other recipes in the future. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli June 25, 2009

This was so tasty! And easy to make (bonus points!) I was rushed at the time though and didn't let the filling set enough before using it in my cake, so I ended up with a pretty messy cake, but darn if it wasn't the the tastiest cake ever! I'll have to try this again and do it the right way next time! lol thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 26, 2009

This was good, but not exactly a whipped cream filling. Because of the gelatin, it is the consistancy of a creamy jello salad, not whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj May 22, 2009

This is one of the best! I added about 1/3 more Whipping cream to mine, came out very tasty! Thank you SOO Much for this excellent recipie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
damariscaballero February 07, 2008
Strawberry Cream Cake Filling