Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Cookies (Czechoslovakian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Cookies (Czechoslovakian)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      We really enjoyed these slightly soft bar cookies. The recipe measurements and directions are very clear and accurate, although I did get a greater number of cookies by cutting them much thinner. These tasted so comforting - the perfect thing to eat while curled up in a chair reading a book and sipping a cup of tea. Thank you for this delightful, old fashioned, homey recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Oh Merlot, these are amazing! Made for my Christmas goody trays, and they were a huge hit! They are very easy and quick to prepare, and look and taste like you spent much more time on them! I greased the pan well, and when they were done, I ran a knife around the edge of the pan, flipped the whole thing onto a cutting board, and used my pizza cutter to get perfect little squares. Don't remember how many I got, but it was much more than 12. And I thought the nuts would be too much, but I was WRONG! They were perfect! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe my friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

    • on November 24, 2011

      My recipe is exactly the same, but on a larger scale to make 2 jelly roll size pans. If you're having trouble spreading the dough on top, don't. Rather, press the first layer into your pans, cover with your jam and then drop little "balls" of dough all over the top. Don't shape the balls or anything fancy, just pinch off little chunks of dough and drop evenly all over. Gives the cookies a really nice, homey look. Also, my recipe uses only the yolks -- no white -- and that may make a difference in its "spreadability." I just make sure I'm making coconut macaroons on the same day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      A great recipe! I had a class project where we had to discuss a foreign country and we got extra credit points if we brought in a food from the chosen country. Since I had been to the Czech Republic thats what I chose, and Strawberry Cookies would be the food. I made both Strawberry and Raspberry. Everybody loved the cookies. They were very easy to make, although spreading the batter was a SERIOUS irritation. But I discovered that greasing the spatula that I was using was extremely helpful. So for future reference for anyone considering making these...get a cooking spray and plan to use it liberally on the spatula...makes spreading the batter very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      These were great! My mother is part Czech, so I wanted to surprise her with these on my Xmas trays. She doesn't remember having anything like them, but she did enjoy. I agree the dough is hard to spread on top of the jam, but it is worth it! My only suggestion would be to use more filling. I used Baker's raspberry filling and it was delicious...I just think it could have used more...next time I'll try it! I needed about 38 minutes bake time and cut it into 36 pieces...perfect for a 2 bite treat! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Great tasting treat!Like most reviewers I also found the dough to be non-spreadable,next time I will chill it and just drop pieces of it onto the jam layer as a few others have said.I omitted the walnuts and added a tsp of vanilla to the dough.I'd also add extra jam next time I make it.These would be great with any flavour jam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2003

      This is a terrific cookie recipe. I've never had this type of cookie before. I just wanted to try it for the cookie trays because it looked so easy. I didn't have any strawberry jam so I subsituted seedless raspberry jam. I was able to cut 24 pieces (6 across and 4 down) from the pan. I had a little trouble handling the dough but this was eliminated after I put the dough in the refrigerator for a little while. This is a non-chocolate and sweet comfort food! :) Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      I loved these cookies. They are great with a cup of tea. The dough was a bit hard to spread, but worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This is a good recipe. It was simple and easy to make. Spraying my spatula with cooking spray did really help smooth out the batter. I got 24 squares out of this recipe and it was great for a dessert tray. More like bars rather than cookies, but yummy. Great way to use up all the cans of jam I made this summer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Another recipe with a long over due review. These are lovely and so like I remember my mom making -plans are to have this freshly made along with her special Pink Lady Squares ready to go when we visit her this coming week. She has been hearing about Recipezaar and will tell her it's a Merlot winner. Thank you for another of your special recipes which have been so family winners at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Great recipe with a delightful taste. The butter mixture was a little difficult to spread, but it did and it all turned out great. Thanks for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Delightful tasty and easy! I amde them using cherry preserves and will definitely make them again! I think they have many possibilities depending on your flavor choices! Great recipe - DH took to work and they were devoured! **Went to market tag 2007**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Delicious cookies - tomorrow is Valentine's Day so they are perfect to serve. They'd be great at Christmas on a cookie tray. I made an icing of confectioner's sugar, a little almond extract and a little milk - it tasted great drizzled over the cookies. I also lined the pan with sprayed aluminum foil so the cookies were easy to get out of the pan and cut. Lastly, for the top layer I patted four large spoonfuls of the dough between dampened hands and placed them on top of the filling. I then smoothed the top portion together - worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

    • on February 01, 2005

      I made these last night with raspberry jam. They are wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Decadently scrumptious! My husband, who isn't much for "fruity" sweets, can't keep away from them. I also cut them much smaller (got about 36 bite-sized pieces) after flipping the cooled pan out onto a cutting board-works like a charm. Will definitely be trying out with other jam flavors as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      I needed something simple for my daughter's 2nd grade heritage project - this was it! I doubled the recipe and baked in a glass 9x13 dish. Using my pizza cutter I cut into small squares which was a perfect way to get neat little squares just right for little hands. My daughter was so proud -- everyone loved them! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      These were incredible. I used a cake tin (because at the time I couldn't find the correct pan) They came out thicker than usual but were still awesome. (I brought them to work at 9, gone at 11) I'm going to try the trick to chill it, roll it out and make thinner slices. Love this recipe Merlot!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2004

      Oh, these bars are just fantastic! I made them last night with my homemade strawberry jam, I have been on a big strawberry adventure lately, as it is now strawberry season here! I did let the dough refrigerate for a couple of hours to harden, as Susie in Texas suggested (great idea), and then rolled it out, they turned out just fantastic! I will be serving them tonight to my company along with Kay Partin's Sour Cream Pound cake (with my homemade strawberry glaze)...Thanks so much for posting such a wonderful recipe, this is a winner for sure Merlot! I can't wait to make these with raspberry and blueberry filling...yummm! Thanks so much for sharing...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Cookies (Czechoslovakian)

    Serving Size: 1 (1114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.6
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    50%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 71.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 153.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites