123 Reviews

EXCELLENT! Strawberry season is here and this is but one great way to use them. I read all 66 reviews. :-) So I decided to replace the granulated white sugar topping with brown sugar and I added just one more tablespoon of cold butter. I used chopped pecans. I included in the topping a teaspoon of cinnamon and a few grates of fresh nutmeg. I used the ol' pastry cutter to cut in the cold butter I'd cubed up and it came together perfectly. The batter I left as is, except for 1/4 tsp. of cardamom (a nice touch!). And I did add the optional vanilla. I used 2 cups of sliced strawberries, which was plenty. I used a glass Pyrex 8x8 dish, and it took about 42 minutes. I checked it after 40, and it looked and tested a little wet. Two minutes more and it was perfect. Served it with a big scoop of fresh vanilla bean ice cream. It was delicious! Thanks for posting!!!!! So easy to put together (which I did in advance, before dinner and baked it off later in the same evening).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Citruholic April 28, 2009

I made this with blackberries (with a tad bit more sugar) rather than strawberries. It was delicious! My husband (who will rarely eat desserts) ate a piece and asked me to make it again. It does get soggy rather quickly, but it still tastes good that way!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun June 15, 2010

Delicious! I bake a lot of cakes, and my friends rated this among my best. The first time I made it, I didn't have any pecans, so I substituted 1/4 cup of oats, which worked pretty well, although not quite as nice as pecans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rondastar May 05, 2010

What a moist and easy cake. I took it to work and it was gobbled up. I was a bit worried during baking though, because the juice from the strawberries nearly ran over the pan and it was difficult to tell if the cake was cooked underneath. I baked it for about 40 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville September 09, 2003

The texture was really off. This came out more like a bread pudding rather than a coffee cake. I did use coconut milk instead of dairy milk as that was all I had, I'm not sure if this would have made the difference. The strawberries released a lot of moisture when baked and even though I baked it much longer than suggested, the moisture never absorbed to give it the cake-like texture it should have had. There is also too much sugar, the one I tasted was syrupy sweet which is not to my taste. For me, it didn't work this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura H. June 15, 2015

Completely delicious! My husband and I both loved it. The only changes I made to the original recipe was using walnuts instead of pecans. I also used coconut milk instead of regular milk because it's what we had on hand and it's healthier. I also melted the butter for the topping before I mixed it all together because it blends a little better in my opinion. Thank you so much for an awesome brunch recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C. May 16, 2015

This was easy and delicious. I served it to friends with coffee at a morning get-to-get her and they raved. It was rich so I was surprised how good it tasted with a scoop of ice cream for dessert. Thanks for a "keeper".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bambo May 16, 2014

Made this a while back and follow what the other reviewers said and used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. I also ran out of milk and decided to use half & half cream diluted with water (1/2 cup measurement) to substitute and the cake turned out to be super moist and soft! Great substitution. The cake ended up to be super delicious and was gone within a day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelsky184 December 26, 2013

This is FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe for the most part, using fresh strawberries from the farmers market. Here are the changes I made: I used half & half instead of milk, I used a little vanilla and a little almond extract (approx 1/2 tsp of each), and I added 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crumble. It cooked in 31 minutes and came out perfectly! I made this to take on a roadtrip this weekend as a snack, but I think my kids will eat it all before we make it to the car -- I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma October 18, 2013

I will be making this time and time again! Wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tattood Momma July 20, 2013
Strawberry Coffee Cake