Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2009

      EXCELLENT! Strawberry season is here and this is but one great way to use them. I read all 66 reviews. :-) So I decided to replace the granulated white sugar topping with brown sugar and I added just one more tablespoon of cold butter. I used chopped pecans. I included in the topping a teaspoon of cinnamon and a few grates of fresh nutmeg. I used the ol' pastry cutter to cut in the cold butter I'd cubed up and it came together perfectly. The batter I left as is, except for 1/4 tsp. of cardamom (a nice touch!). And I did add the optional vanilla. I used 2 cups of sliced strawberries, which was plenty. I used a glass Pyrex 8x8 dish, and it took about 42 minutes. I checked it after 40, and it looked and tested a little wet. Two minutes more and it was perfect. Served it with a big scoop of fresh vanilla bean ice cream. It was delicious! Thanks for posting!!!!! So easy to put together (which I did in advance, before dinner and baked it off later in the same evening).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I made this with blackberries (with a tad bit more sugar) rather than strawberries. It was delicious! My husband (who will rarely eat desserts) ate a piece and asked me to make it again. It does get soggy rather quickly, but it still tastes good that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Delicious! I bake a lot of cakes, and my friends rated this among my best. The first time I made it, I didn't have any pecans, so I substituted 1/4 cup of oats, which worked pretty well, although not quite as nice as pecans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      What a moist and easy cake. I took it to work and it was gobbled up. I was a bit worried during baking though, because the juice from the strawberries nearly ran over the pan and it was difficult to tell if the cake was cooked underneath. I baked it for about 40 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      This was easy and delicious. I served it to friends with coffee at a morning get-to-get her and they raved. It was rich so I was surprised how good it tasted with a scoop of ice cream for dessert. Thanks for a "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Made this a while back and follow what the other reviewers said and used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. I also ran out of milk and decided to use half & half cream diluted with water (1/2 cup measurement) to substitute and the cake turned out to be super moist and soft! Great substitution. The cake ended up to be super delicious and was gone within a day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      This is FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe for the most part, using fresh strawberries from the farmers market. Here are the changes I made: I used half & half instead of milk, I used a little vanilla and a little almond extract (approx 1/2 tsp of each), and I added 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crumble. It cooked in 31 minutes and came out perfectly! I made this to take on a roadtrip this weekend as a snack, but I think my kids will eat it all before we make it to the car -- I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      I will be making this time and time again! Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Loved this coffee cake! Next time, I'll add the vanilla since I forgot it this time! But it was delicious without it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This was DELICIOUS!! I used frozen strawberries, sliced them while frozen, added the cinnamon to the topping, didn't change any ingredients except used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour. It ended up baking for almost 45 minutes (I doubled the recipe but used two round 8" pans) to prevent any gumminess. And it was wonderful. And it is gone. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      this is so amazing! i made it tonight and followed the recipe to the T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Followed Citruholic's tips (except I added the pecans to the batter on accident), and it turned out DELICIOUS. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

    • on June 19, 2012

      We made this for Fathers Day and everyone loved it. I had some fresh strawberries that I wanted to use up and this fit the bill perfectly. Its a nice texture for coffee cake (sometimes they can be gritty). thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Made this with a pie filling of sorts (strawberry rhubarb and raspberry), instead of the fruit called for, and it was quite tasty. For anyone thinking of using filling, it stayed quite wet, and kind of ran when the cake as cut, but I'm sure that can be helped with a bit of corn starch. Overall, good cake with good flavor. This could easily be adapted with any kind of filling or fruit. Served warm with ice cream, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      WOW!! What a charming little cake! Super easy to make, and soooo good. The only change I made was using half & half instead of milk for a richer flavor. We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream, and it tasted amazing. The cake is soft and moist, while the topping gives you a sweet crunch. This is all balanced by the tang of the strawberries. Delicious flavor! I am excited to try this recipe again using different fruits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      so, I'm not sure about this recipe, but I made enough adjustments to it that I'll readily admit that it could have been me who screwed it up. To my mind, it's both too sweet and too bland.

      I used a pound of strawberries, ('cause a pint's a pound the world around) and it ended up looking like way more than what's on the picture. I used the vanilla and added a few shakes of allspice and cinnamon to the batter. I left the pecans out of the topping because I don't like them, and didn't have any on hand.

      The texture is more of a pudding than a coffee cake, but I'm willing to let that be from the extra strawberries, and, as another reviewer said, it doesn't change the taste.

      I also used margarine rather than real butter--while it makes a difference in candy making, say, I've never really had an issue with baking before, but I'm willing to let that be the reason why the top didn't turn out the way I thought it should.

      In short, I'm willing to try this recipe again, but as it stands now, I'm not to pleased with it, and am not sure what it needs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious - best strawberry cake ever. I had no vanilla flavoring and substituted almond extract. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Awesome, will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Nice fruity alternative to our regular cinnamon streusel coffee cake. I liked the crunch of the topping. It was a tad too sweet, but the flavor was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.8
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    36%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 48.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 329.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes