114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our July 4th BBQ. Everyone raved and asked for the recipe. Thanks for posting, I can't wait to make it again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauriew July 08, 2008

Very good trifle! I followed the directions w/ review hints in mind. I used a whole tub of Cool Whip and spread that layer instead of stirring the cake in with the mixture. I thought it looked a bit plain when finished, so I added a few blueberries on top. It looked fantastic and the blueberries added to the wonderful flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni July 06, 2008

Great summer trifle! I used pound cake instead of angelfood. Since I made it for 4th of July I wanted a red, white and blue look. I used strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and raspberries. Turned out fantastic. I layered cubes of pound cake, then a layer on one of the berries, then spread the cream cheese mixture over it and repeated 3 more times. Topped it with a sprinkling of blueberries and raspberries, dolloped whip cream along the edges of the trifle bowl...looked very festive and tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathylc July 04, 2008

I wish I could give this more than 5 stars, we loved it that much! I did use 8 oz of cool whip, and also started by layering with the cake layer first, as one person suggested. It was so easy to make, and even easier to eat. Everyone loved it, and I will be making this all summer, thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katelyn1009 June 30, 2008

This was a beautiful dessert! It looked very pretty and fit in my pampered chef trifle bowl perfectly. I didn't care for the texture of the cake mixed with the cheesecake mixture, though. The cake just got all crumbly and mushy and the strawberries were pretty juicy which didn't help the mushy-ness. It looked good, but I probably won't make it again due to the texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurplePen June 07, 2008

I was glad I left out a small bowl of this dessert before I took it to our mother daughter banquet. By the time I got through the dessert line, it was GONE. People loved it!!! I am already asked to bring it to the Memorial day picnic. Such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nascarmom May 03, 2008

I made this for my FIL's birthday and everyone loved it. I left out the 4 T of sugar in the strawberries and used at least 1 1/2 times the amount of strawberries called for. I also used 8 oz of Cool Whip instead of only one cup and found the filling a bit dry as Susie D did. (The cake was a 10 oz cake). I subbed lowfat plain yogurt for the sour cream, used about 1 3/4 cup powdered sugar, and lowfat cream cheese. I started with cake on the bottom as some others suggested. Really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife2abadge April 29, 2008

This was very good and easy to make - an excellent combination! We had some delicious, fresh strawberries, which just added to the great flavor. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanRW April 19, 2008
Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle