114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simply to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nataly* December 31, 2008

Huge hit at the 2008 Christmas feast!! This is a light, delicious dessert - worthy enough to provide the finale to any meal :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vaguely Vegan December 27, 2008

Very good trifle, everyone at Christmas dinner loved it. We, however, cut the sugar down from 2 cups to 3/4 cup....that was plenty for us. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgvgngjg December 26, 2008

Delicious! I used frozen strawberries for half of the fresh strawberries and only 1-1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Everyone loved it. The bottom layer was soggy the next day (still tasty, though) but perfect the first day. I made a butter cake from a mix and used that instead of the angel food cake. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle October 21, 2008

I second the other reviews. This recipe is delicious! It's one of my new favorites and one I will make for many years to come. I love my strawberries and this was the perfect recipe to make to bring to my nieces anniversary party. There were just crumbs left in the bowl and lots of compliments after it was eaten. Thanks Anita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic October 04, 2008

OMG just like the strawberry shortcake that I made for my daughters baby shower this trifle was a HIT!! RecipeZaars made my daughters baby shower a success with all these amazing desserts. There were raves all over about a few cake that I made and this was one of them. I can't begin to tell you all the great compliments I got or I'd take up this whole page with my review. But I will say this, the weekend following my daughters baby shower, my sisters asked me to make this cake + the strawberry shortcake for our family gathering. Its not often you run into a dessert that you KNOW will be a hit every time, but this is one of them. Thank You, Thank You so so much for this dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 September 18, 2008

Firstly, I halved the whole recipe and it worked just fine. I used fat free cream cheese and sour cream, reduced fat cool whip, sugar free angel food cake, and omitted the almod extract. When I was making it, I couldn't keep my fingers out of the cake mix! It was sooo good! But, when it was time to eat the whole dessert... it was SO sweet that my husband and I couldn't finish our bowls. Next time I will not add the sugar to the strawberries to balance the sweetness of the cake mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrshMelloz August 31, 2008

I didn't mix the cake with the cool whip mixture and added 1 cup light whipping cream for a lighter taste and more dramtic presentation. It was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe July 19, 2008

This is phenomenal! I made this for church last night and it was the first thing to go!! Everyone loved it and the little bit that I got was delicious. I used reduced fat cream cheese, fat free sour cream and fat free cool whip and it was awesome. Thanks Anita for this fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis July 14, 2008

This was our dessert for the 4th of July picnic that we went to at a neighbors. Everyone dug in and before I knew it the bowl was empty! Good thing I took mine before everyone dug in! We really enjoyed this one, and so did the neighbors! Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! July 10, 2008
Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle