114 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our Fourth of July dessert, and added blueberries (layered above the strawberries) to make it red, white and blue. We halved the recipe, for our family of 5, and we only had a little bit left as we all had seconds! It was delicious!! I made a few changes based on recommendations....for a full recipe plan at least 10 oz of cool whip and for sugar I think you could use 1 1/2 cups powd'd sugar, and splenda instead of sugar...the taste was still amazing. I didnt put the cake in the cream cheese mixture, just layered it seperately...I was worried about texture, but dont think i needed to be. The wee bit that was left was still fine, and just as yummy, the next day. For us, a full recipe would serve about 12-15...believe me, people will want enough of this dessert so don't count on serving 24. Wonderful recipe, I can't wait to share it with others!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marci h July 14, 2009

This was fabulous! I added the entire tub of Cool Whip, just to stretch things out and it got rave reviews from everyone! No way will it serve 24 people....well, at least 24 sane people, because you're crazy if you don't want a bigger helping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenTheMiltch July 03, 2009

Just made this for a Father's Day dinner and it's to 'die for'!!!!! Instead of vanilla and almond extract used Amaretto liquore! Did not have angel food cake so cut up squares of pound cake! Also used fresh whipped cream! Thanks Anita for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 21, 2009

YUMMY! I made this for my husband and some friends of ours. Everyone loved it. I used a bit more strawberries then the recipe called for but that was only because I was layering them pretty heavy and needed more towards the end. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MereReu May 23, 2009

This was very good. A nice rich dessert that was devoured by all. However it doesn't keep so make sure it all goes. The next day it looks like mush. But close your eyes while you eat and it still tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love May 20, 2009

I bought a giant container of strawberries right before Easter, so I cruised recipezaar looking for a winner. Boy, did I find one! This recipe was a huge hit at Easter dinner. It went before even some of my aunt's favored traditional pies! Now if that isn't high praise, I don't know what is! Thanks a ton for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Val1030 April 17, 2009

Amazing!!! I took this to Easter dinner and I barely got any. EVERYONE loved it and wanted the recipe. I made several modifications since all of us are watching our weight. I used Light Cream Cheese, and splenda instead of the powdered sugar, Lite cool whip and splenda in place of the sugar for the strawberries. I didn't have almond extract, so left that out and forgot to put the sour cream in (even though I had it). It was still delicious, but next time I'll try it with the sour cream to see how it varies. Thank you for the recipee. I'll definitley be making this over and over again for potlucks because of all the attention it got and it was guilt free with the changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aikenbeck April 12, 2009

Absolutely Awesome!! Could be the best dessert I have ever had. I also used splenda instead of sugar and cut the strawberries back a little and used blueberries...yummmmy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anika90 February 15, 2009

This dessert was a huge hit...my guests cleaned the bowl out...I used spenda and sugar free angel food cake to make it sugar free...it turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 26, 2009
Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle