47 Reviews

Delicious, moist flavorful cake, but my favorite part was the icing! I substituted cherry chip cake mix and cherry jello, but you couldn't tell. I must not have drained the strawberries enough because my icing was a little runny, but it was so good! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover April 21, 2013

This was wonderful! I did make substantial changes that I don't want to forget when I make this again: I used strawberry cake mix and eliminated the jello. Also skipped the pecans. Reduced oil to 3/4 c and added remainder in applesauce. Probably could reduce further. <br/><br/>For the frosting, I was running out of time, so just added the 1/2 cup drained chopped strawberries to a container of canned, whipped white frosting and whipped some more. <br/><br/>The coconut made this extra special; the whole house smelled like strawberries! Easy, yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky April 03, 2013

My youngest's birthday request was strawberry cupcakes with strawberry frosting. Left out the coconut and nuts do to allergies among some classmates then halved the frosting and got 36 wonderful cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady + 3 January 20, 2013

I made this a few weeks ago, minus the coconut and nuts. I also made my own butter cream frosting for it. It was so incredibly moist and delicious! Everyone loved it, and it was devoured by my friends and roommate lol. Be sure to grease your pans well, mine stuck a little. Also, I suggest chilling the cake before icing since it's so moist and light, cooling doesn't do enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cypress September 14, 2012

This a favorite cake of my family's and I have been asked to make it for several birthdays

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie-Did-It February 18, 2012

I hate to go against the grain on this one, and I wonder if I did something wrong since it didn't turn out for me as well as the other reviewers liked it. But - my mother and mother-in-law really liked it! I think perhaps I like a lighter cake, so will look for a recipe that matches that taste better next time. Thanks for a fun one to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North February 15, 2012

Hands down the best cake I have ever made. My family devoured it when I set it on the table! It looked so pretty and it was so moist and delicious, it had you at first bite! I added the nuts and coconut, which I think really added to the consistency of the frosting and cake too. What a "Special" cake, and now I have the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda's Pantry! August 30, 2011

Great tasting cake. So moist and delicious. We loved the icing. It has so much strawberry flavor. Thanks for posting this cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 23, 2011

This is a great cake, I made a small cake and cupcakes, for a Baby Shower. Loved, Loved, Loved the frosting!! Used raspberry jello mix instead of strawberry since it was on hand, and it was still great. The frosting is only a medium consistency, so if you add to many strawberries with to much juice I could see it really getting runny and going south on you. I was decorating the cupcakes with embellishents, so I had to keep everything really cold to hold up. I also added some pink food coloring to brighten the color, so it would match the baby theme. Just finished, and I love the way it looks, taste tested everything individually, so I'm excited to assemble my cake towers and taste the end result!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmwinslow June 04, 2011
Strawberry Cake With Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting