Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberry Cake With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberry Cake With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2002

      I perked up when I first read this neat recipe. Since my husband and I are muffin people, I was inspired by this recipe to make strawberry muffins through a modified version of this recipe. I had to do some adjusting: I hadn't white cake mix so I used a simple white cake recipe (following all the mixing and ingredient listed) and nixed the eggs, oil and water suggested by the Inez's recipe, but added to the white cake recipe the strawberry jell-o & thawed strawberries to the mix. I followed Inez's baking temp. and time. It yielded 12 muffins. I topped them off with the frosting. They tasted good. I can understand why kids would like them, with the fun pink colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      This was great! I'll be making this often. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      I had this recipe years ago and lost it, so I was delighted to find it here. Strawberry cake is a favorite of my family, so I made this for my son's birthday. It was moist and delicious, loaded with strawberry flavor. It refrigerates well, and keeps for several days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      Very Good! I addded a few squirts of whipcream to each edge for a decorative touch... and a happy face to my daughters, she was thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      MizzNezz, I haven't had this recipe in years. Figured it was to be counted among the lost - thanks so much for posting it so that I could put it in my "rescued recipes" file!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      I made this for my daughter's bday as strawberry cake is her favorite. I ended up using store bought icing and it was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This cake was a huge hit with my 2 kids and husband. I WAS worried about the 1 whole cup of veg oil but I decided to follow the recipe nervously. It turned out great and beautiful. I used a bunt cake pan and needed to bake for an additional 5 min or so. I used a homemade cream cheese frosting and sprinkled decorative sugar on top. Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I wasn't quite sure what to expect with the ingredients listed, but this cake was a huge hit with the family, and it is delicious! I did substitute half the oil with unsweetened applesauce (I might try 3/4ths next time), and because I intended to serve the cake from the baking dish, I only made half the frosting recipe---which was still an ample amount. This recipe is very easy, and is good for when you are short on time---which I was yesterday. I used an 8x12-inch baking dish, and baked the cake about 10 minutes longer than directed. I must live in a cooking-utensil-challenged area (lol), because in addition to my fruitless search for a 7x11-in. pan, I also cannot locate a 9x12-inch pan. Yes, this cake is sweet---but aren't desserts supposed to be?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Based on the ingredients, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was the perfect addition to my 4 year old's "Pink-a-licious" birthday party. The cake was a huge hit. I used a strawberry buttercream frosting and decorated with fresh strawberries. Several moms asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Pretty cake, easy to put together and quite moist. This is very sweet and smells (unsurprisingly) artificial. It went over well enough but is not likely to ever become the 'go to' recipe. Should the need for a strawberry cake arise again, I'll look for something without jello powder. I did not make the frosting noted in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Made this tonight for a block party!! Absolutely DELISH!! I will be making this again. I use fresh strawberries because they were on sale. I'm wondering if it would work with other fruits!! Blueberries maybe....??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      The great thing about this cake is that it is soooo good and didn't call for andy any ingredients that I didn't already have on hand. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen and made an 8" round two-layer cake. This did make the cooking time a little longer. Also, I was expecting the icing to have a firmer texture like buttercream, but it did not. If I had known, I probably would have made it in the 12X9 pan that the recipe calls for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Very easy, moist and delicious. This recipe makes 5-1/2 cups of batter, which is enough for one 8" round and one 6" round pan. I am not using the icing as I have my own recipe for that, but I'll tell you, I could eat this cake without icing. It was very good! Since I used the 8" and 6" round pans and put them in the oven together, my cooking time was a longer than 30 minutes. I think my 8" round took about 35-37 minutes, but my 6" round was done around 33 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Easy, moist and dee-licious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This is the best Strawberry Cake ever. I made this cake for the 4th of July and then made it again Sunday. This cake is like Lay's potato chips; nobody can eat just one (slice). This recipe is forever in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This cake is very moist. I served it to family and everyone loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I made this for my niece's birthday party and it was a major hit! Instead of making the frosting as it called for in the recipe I just got a container of cream cheese frosting and blended the remainder of the frozen strawberries in it. YUM! This recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Wonderful Cake recipe. Everyone loves it! The only modification that I've made is to use a strawberry cake mix and added a tsp. of strawberry extract. Other than that it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is my all time favorite recipe. I've made it for years and still love it. Only difference in my recipe is it calls for 1/2 cup thawed strawberries to the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I love this cake! This is the cake that, as a child, I always requested on my birthday. It is very sweet, but I wouldnt have it any other way. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberry Cake With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 597.9
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    44%
    Total Fat 29.6 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 392.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 68.0 g
    272%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites