10 Reviews

I not even gone give any stars for this recipe. .... It was awful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chico M. April 28, 2015

I gave this 1 star for the flavor of the icing...the cake even with the strawberries AND the strawberry extract had NO flavor whatsoever....what a total waste of time and ingredients. The icing does have a good flavor and does get a bit thicker if you put it in the refrigerator for awhile....I will not make this one again.........:( I am quite a good baker but this just didn't do it for me. I am pretty sure now that the reason for the Jello in most of the recipes is for the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alporfirio3 April 03, 2014

This turned out horrible. It was very bland and had no strawberry flavor what so ever. It was a waste of my time and money. Definitely not making again. It was very dense and didn't rise at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth Hart July 14, 2013

I didn't enjoy this recipe. 40 minutes in the oven, and it still wasn't cooked through. And it's not my oven. The flavor was bland (we ate the edges), the frosting never got thick enough to spread. It was like yogurt. I had to put in a whole 2 pound bag of confectioner's sugar before it could even be scooped. 2 stars because the flavor of the icing was good.<br/><br/>This is a recipe I won't be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeQui June 24, 2013

I substituted strawberry flavoring for the vanilla and added a couple extra teaspoons. The cake cooked well. The frosting was perfect but still not quite enough strawberry flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly G. January 25, 2016

I agree that it is not as sweet as a typical strawberry cake but I kind of thought that was great! Putting more strawberries into the mix would probably help that but it has a great farm-to-table kind of vibe that I love. Definitely not for everyone but I really liked it. I dressed it up by not putting strawberries in the frosting and topping the cake with strawberry rhubarb compote. Looks and tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vero L. October 31, 2015

Sorry to say but this recipe is bad news. If you are reading this comment believe me when I tell you not to waste your time. First of all the prep time isn't any where near 10 minutes and the cake hardly tastes like strawberries. The frosting literally oozes off the cake and on top of that you could barely taste the strawberries because the amount of butter required overpowers the pallette. DO NOT TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anuwegonzalez August 09, 2015

This cake was definitely more like a shortcake. The cake actually had a biscuit texture. I did enjoy the frosting it tasted like a Dairy Queen blizzard. I make an excellent banana cake and had my hopes up this would be similar just in strawberry flavor. If you are expecting a shortcake dessert it tastes great, if you want a "cake" it doesn't do the trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahzigler1 July 07, 2015

Ok, made this for my boyfriends mothers birthday this last Sunday and it was fantastic and very simple. It was dense and moist, very flavorful and the frosting was amazing. I didn't want a cake made with jello I wanted fresh strawberries. Now I didn't have strawberry extract, the vanilla worked out fine. I would definitely make this again and might even try it as cake balls

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerilees July 24, 2013

This cake was exactly what I was looking for - a strawberry cake from scratch that didn't use jello! The flavor was excellent and I loved the addition of fresh strawberries to the frosting. Made this for a gal at work for her birthday and she couldn't stop mentioning how good it was. Easily converted to gluten free using my favorite gluten free flour blend and by adding 2 T of ground flax seed. Thanks for posting this - will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft April 09, 2013
Strawberry Cake from Scratch